Round-up: First pro win for Chiarini

Eurosport - Sun, 01 Aug 21:22:00 2010

Italy's Riccardo Chiarini of De Rosa–Stac Plastic got the better of a group of four to win the Trofeo Matteotti in Pescara.

- 0

He defeated Leonardo Bertagnolli (Androni Giocattoli), Miguel Angel Rubiano Chavez (Meridiana) and Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF Inox) to take the first professional win of his career.

Andy Cappelle used an attacking style to claim La Poly Normande. The Verandas Willems rider was aggressive throughout the race with a final attack 800 metres from home finally sticking for the victory.

Tour de France riders Lloyd Mondory (Ag2r-La Mondiale), Sebastien Minard (Cofidis) and Benoit Vaugrenard (FDJ) were in the final group but failed to crack the podium.

Meanwhile, the Circuito de Getxo was won by Francisco Jose Pacheco to secure the Xacobeo Galicia team their first victory of 2010.


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account