New tournament: Who's the GOAT?

Eurosport - Wed, 03 Feb 11:44:00 2010

Eurosport-Yahoo! has set up a new tennis tournament to find who is the greatest men's tennis player of all time - and ultimately it will be up to you, the readers, to decide.

Pete Sampras Roger Federer Jimmy Connors montage - 0

Who's the GOAT? (greatest of all time) is a 16-man knockout tournament that will pit the best of the best against each other every week.

Sixteen men have won four or more Grand Slam titles in the Open era and we have seeded our competitors based on those successes. Where players have won the same amount, the number of ATP titles they have won acts as a tie-break.

Each week we will present one match-up and get you the readers to vote on who would win if both players faced off against each other at the peak of their abilities.

To help stir debate, Eurosport tennis commentator and blogger Simon Reed will analyse each hypothetical match every Thursday and offer his opinion on how it might go.

Then the following Wednesday we will reveal the result of the match with a selection of your comments, before Simon presents the next match-up the following day.

When analysing each match, we'd urge you to consider the players playing one set on grass, one set on a clay court, and one set on a hard court before deciding who you think might win.

However, there are no hard and fast rules. Each match is its own unique event. You might think Roger Federer is the greatest, but also that an in-form John McEnroe would beat him every time. You might just be a big Boris Becker fan and want him to progress in the tournament. You might have never warmed to Pete Sampras and want him out straight away.

As we said, ultimately it is up to you. If you want to set up a Facebook page to drum up support for Bjorn Borg, or tweet all your friends to vote for Andre Agassi - go ahead.

It's all a bit of fun, and hopefully it will spark some great tennis debate.

Find the tournament draw below and log on to Eurosport-Yahoo! on Thursday when Simon Reed will run the rule over the first match - Roger Federer v Jim Courier - and you will be able to start voting.


Top half

1-Roger Federer

16-Jim Courier


8-Mats Wilander

9-Boris Becker


5-Ivan Lendl

12-Rod Laver


13-John Newcombe

4-Jimmy Connors


Bottom half

3-Bjorn Borg

14-Ken Rosewall


6-Andre Agassi

11-Rafael Nadal


7-John McEnroe

10-Stefan Edberg


15-Guillermo Vilas

2-Pete Sampras


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account