Sagan completes back-to-back wins

Thu, 04 Aug 19:04:00 2011

Liquigas rider Peter Sagan took his second consecutive stage win when he sprinted to victory on stage five of the Tour of Poland.

- Sagan secures second win

Sagan extended his lead in the general classification with a near perfect stage, taking advantage of some strong work by his team to finish ahead of Michael Matthews and Heinrich Haussler.

Ruslan Pydgornyy (Vacansoleil-DCM), Albert Timmer (Skil-Shimano), Miguel Minguez Ayala (Euskatel-Euskadi), Mateusz Taciak (CCC Polsat Polkowice) and Vasili Kiryienka (Movistar Team) formed an early break away at the 23 kilometre mark taking the first climb.

However as the stage progressed through the first 10 climbs of the day, only Pydgornyy and Kiryienka remained before the latter also dropped off the pace.

Pydgornyy had opened up an eight minute lead at the 100km mark but Lampre's Diego Ulissi and Simon Spilak gradually reeling the Ukrainian in, with Katusha's Giampaolo Caruso going with them.

The chasing trio caught Pydgornyy with 40km remaining before being caught themselves by the Wout Poels (Vacansoleil-DCM) led peloton.

Marek Rutkiewicz was the next rider to attempt a breakaway, opening up a gap of over 10 seconds before being caught by Liquigas at the foot of the final category three climb.

With five km still remaining, Sagan began to accelerate away, followed by a group of sprinters before sneaking victory and leaving defending champion Dan Martin (Garmin-Cervelo) three seconds adrift and fourth in the GC.

Tour de Pologne : finish s


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account