Wippert claims stage two of l’Avenir

Tue, 06 Sep 18:42:00 2011

Dutchman Wouter Wippert rode to victory in the second stage of the Tour de l’Avenir, although Denis Rohan continues to lead overall.

CYCLING 2006 - gruppo - generic - 0

The 21-year-old won the 151-kilometre stage from Bruyeres to Rambervilliers, beating compatriot Moreno Hofland and Italy's Fillippo Fortin in the process.

Three riders broke away early on in the stage with Sjoerd Kouwenhoven, Garikoitz Bravo and Marco Haller leading by over nine minutes.

However, with 2km to go, the peloton clawed back the leading pack’s advantage as a bunch sprint ensued which allowed for Wippert to take the stage with an overall time of three hours, 51 minutes and 29 seconds.

Dutchman Rohan remains the leader in the general classification.

The Tour de l'Avenir is an eight-day race for national teams dubbed the "Tour of the Future" for U23 Tour de France prospects.

Felice Gimondi, Joop Zoetemelk, Greg Lemond, Miguel Indurain and Laurent Fignonall are all previous winners of the Tour de l'Avenir in the past who went on to win 12 Tour de France titles between them.

1. Wouter Wippert 03:51:29

2. Moreno Hofland

3. Filippo Fortin

4. Raymond Kreder

5. Michael Hepburn

6. Jan Keller

7. Tim Declercq

8. Nikias Arndt

9. Nairo Alexander

10. Romain Bardet


1. Rohan Dennis 08:10:51

2. Michael Hepburn 00:22

3. David Boily 00:24

4. Georg Preidler 00:35

5. Moreno Hofland

6. Tom Dumoulin 0 00:40

7. Jakub Novak 00:44

8. Hugo Houle

9. Romain Bardet 00:46

10. Michael Valgren Andersen 00:48


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account