Sanchez wins stage and Burgos title

Eurosport - Sun, 08 Aug 19:21:00 2010

Samuel Sanchez of Euskatel won the fifth and final stage of the Tour of Burgos to seal an overall race win.

- 0

The Spaniard shaded a sprint finish with compatriot Ezequiel Mosquera, of Xacobeo Galicia, in a time of three hours and 59.39 seconds.

Third on the podium for the stage was Liquigas-Domino’s Italian Vincenzo Nibali, with the top three on Sunday the same as the general classification.

Gianpaolo Caruso, who held a nine-second lead going into the final day, finished 10th, one minute and seven seconds back, to come seventh overall.


Romain Feillu won the fourth stage of the Vuelta a Burgos after leading home a mass sprint in Salas de los Infantes.

The Vacansoleil rider edged Team Katusha's Denis Galimzyanov and Ceramica Flaminia's Enrico Rossi to take the win after the 173km stage.

Galimzyanov's team-mate Gianpaolo Caruso retained the lead in the general classification after finishing safely in the pack.

Caruso will take a nine-second lead over Jose Ivan Gutierrez (Caisse d'Epargne) into the final stage on Sunday.


Katusha catapulted Italy's Gianpaolo Caruso into the overall lead of the Vuelta a Burgos after stage three with victory in the team time-trial.

The Russian team clocked 21 minutes, 42 seconds while Liquigas-Doimo finished seven seconds back and Rabobank were a further four seconds adrift over the 21.3km course.

Caruso, 29, pushed Jose Ivan Gutierrez, now nine seconds off the pace, into second in the general classification with the Spaniard's team, Caisse d'Epargne losing 15 seconds in Melgar de Fernamental.


Olympic champion Samuel Sanchez won the second stage of the Vuelta a Burgos in Miranda de Ebro to take control of the race.

The Euskaltel-Euskadi rider, who finished fourth at the Tour de France, was alone with Jose Ivan Gutierrez (Caisse d'Epargne) at the finish and powered home for the win.

Kristof Vanderwalle (Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator) came in third - four seconds off the front two.

After a sprint finish in the opening stage and no time bonuses it means the three riders now occupy the same positions in General Classification.

It is a great start to the race for Euskaltel-Euskadi, with Koldo Fernandez having won opener.


Euskaltel-Euskadi rider Koldo Fernandez won the opening stage of the Vuelta a Burgos in Spain after a perfectly-judged sprint finish.

Caisse d'Espargne's Spanish champion Ivan Gutierrez launched a late attack, but the Euskaltel-Euskadi-lead peloton swallowed them up with just two kilometres left of the 143km stage.

Team Sky took control of the lead out, but Fernandez's immaculately-timed sprint saw the Basque rider beat Nikols Maes (Quick Step) into second, with Vacansoleil's Romain Feillu in third and Katusha's Filippo Pozzato fourth.

Fernandez will now wear the yellow jersey on Thursday's 165km second stage, between Burgos and Miranda de Ebro.


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account