Arndt takes l'Avenir stage

Thu, 08 Sep 23:49:00 2011

Germany's Nikias Arndt won stage four of the Tour de l'Avenir while Canadian David Boily retained the overall leader's jersey.

2011 CYCLING Germany's Nikias Arndt - 0

Arndt beat Frenchman Romain Bardet and Britain's Simon Yates to the finish line after the peloton had wended its way from Porrentruy in Switzerland over the border to Arbois.

Boily finished 20th on the day to stay top of the general classification, 34 seconds ahead of Dane Christopher Juul-Jensen and a further four ahead of Norway's Vegard Stake Laengen.

The Tour de l'Avenir is an eight-day race for national teams dubbed the "Tour of the Future" for U23 Tour de France prospects.

Felice Gimondi, Joop Zoetemelk, Greg Lemond, Miguel Indurain and Laurent Fignonall are all previous winners of the Tour de l'Avenir in the past who went on to win 12 Tour de France titles between them.

Stage four results

1 Nikias Arndt (GER) 04:08:32

2 Romain Bardet (FRA)

3 Simon Yates (GBR)

4 Raymond Kreder (NLD)

5 Jordi Simon (ESP)

6 Tosh Van Der Sande (BEL)

7 Alexey Lusenko (KAZ)

8 Asbjorn Kragh Andersen (DEN)

9 Patrick Konrad (AUT)

10 Johan Esteban Chaves (COL)

General Classification

1 David Boily (CAN) 16:49:45

2 Christopher Juul-Jensen (DEN) 00:00:34

3 Vegard Stake Laengen (NOR) 00:00:38

4 Jordi Simon (ESP) 00:00:41

5 Johan Esteban Chaves (COL) 00:00:45

6 Mattia Cattaneo (ITA) 00:00:46

7 Mark Christian (GBR) 00:01:21

8 Georg Preidlet (AUT) 00:01:29

9 Tom Dumoulin (NLD) 00:01:34

10 Dimitri Le Boulch (FRA) 00:01:43


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account