GreenEDGE complete roster with Aussie duo

Tue, 08 Nov 05:28:00 2011

GreenEDGE have completed their roster for the 2012 cycling season with the signings of Australian duo Luke Durbridge and Michael Hepburn.

2011 Mondiaux Luke Durbridge - 0

Durbridge, 23, is the U23 world time trial champion while Hepburn, 20, won bronze in the same event. Both riders were part of the Australian team that won the world title in the team pursuit.

The pair have aspirations of starring on the track at next year's London Olympics and GreenEDGE team manager Shayne Bannan said their signing for a road racing team would not hamper them in that goal.

"Although we're a road team, part of our mission is to support our riders who have ambitions on the track, particular Australian riders as we head towards next year's London Olympics," Bannan said.

"Luke and Michael will form a critical part of Australia's hopes to win gold in the team pursuit in London and we want to be part of helping them achieve that.

"They are both also massive talents on the road and any team would want on their roster so we weren't about to take the risk of giving other teams the chance of signing these guys up before we did."

Neither rider will officially join the team until February 2012 due to commitments on the track for the first half of the season.

GreenEDGE also announced the signing of 25-year-old Lithuanian Aidis Kruopis.

GreenEDGE squad for 2012:

Michael Albasini (Sui)

Fumiyuki Bepppu (Jpn)

Jack Bobridge (Aus)

Simon Clarke (Aus)

Baden Cooke (Aus)

Allan Davis (Aus)

Julian Dean (NZ)

Mitchell Docker (Aus)

Luke Durbridge (Aus) (neo)

Simon Gerrans (Aus)

Matt Goss (Aus)

Michael Hepburn (Aus) (neo)

Leigh Howard (Aus)

Daryl Impey (RSA)

Jens Keukeleire (Bel)

Aidis Kruopis (Ltu)

Brett Lancaster (Aus)

Sebastion Langeveld (Ned)

Robbie McEwen (Aus)

Christian Meier (Can)

Cameron Meyer (Aus)

Travis Meyer (Aus)

Jens Mouris (Ned)

Stuart O'Grady (Aus)

Wesley Sulzberger (Aus)

Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eritrea) (neo)

Svein Tuft (Can)

Tomas Vaitkus (Ltu)

Pieter Weening (Ned)

Matt Wilson (Aus)


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account