Rabobank confirm Tour Down Under entry

Wed, 09 Nov 01:21:00 2011

Rabobank have become the first UCI Pro Tour team to confirm their participation in the season-opening Tour Down Under in January next year.

Luis Leon Sanchez Rabobank Tour de France 2011 - 0

The Dutch outfit will send a strong team to Adelaide with 2005 race winner and runner up in 2006 Luis Leon Sanchez leading the way.

The Spaniard will be joined by Australian trio Mark Renshaw, Graeme Brown and Michael Matthews.

Brown is a four-times stage winner on the Tour Down Under while Renshaw and Matthews each have one success to their names.

"The Rabobank team line-up is quite formidable with Luis Leon Sanchez leading the team. The experience in this strong team should show on the results board come January,” said race organiser Mike Turtur.

"Having past winners continue to return to compete is a compliment to the level of fierce competition the race delivers.

"It is always fantastic to welcome back our Aussie champions to the race. Graeme and Mark tend to perform well here and we expect nothing different from them next year.

Joining Sanchez, Renshaw, Brown and Matthews will be Tom Leezer, Jos Van Emden and Wilco Keldermann.


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account