Munoz cleans up at Tour de Singkarak

Sun, 10 Jun 18:42:00 2012

Spain’s Oscar Pujol Munoz won all three titles the Tour de Singkarak after finishing in the main group of a bunch sprint in the seventh and final stage in West Sumatra, Indonesia.

CYCLING Oscar Pujol Munoz of Azad University of Iran team celebrates with team-mates after winning all three titles at the Tour de Singkarak in Indonesia - 0

Munoz, riding for the Azad University of Iran team, just needed to avoid serious mishap during the 99km ride to Padang.

And he did so comfortably, keeping pace with the peloton to finish with a total time of 21 hours, 24 minutes and 21 seconds, more than a minute clear of Australian Jai Crawford of Genesys Wealth Advisers.

In addition to the general classification title, Munoz won the green and polka dot jerseys for sprinting and climbing respectively.

Taiwanese rider Chun Kai Feng of Action Cycling Team was third overall.

Sunday’s stage was won by Mohd Zamri Saleh, the Malaysian shading Terengganu Cycling Team team-mate Hariff Saleh in the final sprint.

Australian amateur Alexander Edmonton was third on the day.

Stage seven result (all given in 2:19:19)

1. Mohd Zamri Saleh (Mas) Terengganu Cycling Team

2. Hariff Salleh (Mas) Terengganu Cycling Team    

3. Alexander Edmondson (Aus) Australia    

4. Joel Pearson (Aus) Genesys Wealth Advisers    

5. Shih Hsin Hsiao (Tpe) Action Cycling Team    

19. Jai Crawford (Aus) Genesys Wealth Advisers

39. Oscar Pujol Munoz (Spa) Azad University Cross Team

50 Chun Kai Feng (Tpe) Action Cycling Team

Final general classification

1. Oscar Pujol Munoz (Spa) Azad University Cross Team 21:24:21  

2. Jai Crawford (Aus) Genesys Wealth Advisers 0:01:08  

3. Chun Kai Feng (Tpe) Action Cycling Team 0:01:12  

4. Alex Clements (Aus) Australia 0:01:29  

5. Dadi Suryadi (Ina) 0:01:31  

6. John Bohn Ebsen (Den) CCN 0:02:30  

7. Tonton Susanto (Ina) 0:04:14  

8. Genki Yamamoto (Jpn) Japan 0:04:57  

9. Chelly Aristya (Ina) 0:06:10  

10. Takero Terasaki (Jpn) Japan (s.t.)

Stage six

Oscar Pujol Munoz retained the overall lead at the Tour de Singkarak after Yasuharu Nakajima won the sixth and penultimate stage in West Sumatra.

Japan’s Nakajima, who rides for the Aisan Racing Team, won the five-man sprint at the end of the 143.9km coastal stage between Pariaman and Painan.

Nakajima’s compatriot Eiichi Hirai and Indonesian duo Arin Iswana and Hari Fitrianto also posted times of three hours, 25 minutes and six seconds.

Singapore’s Huat Choon Goh was fifth with the same time.

Spaniard Munoz, riding for the Azad University of Iran, finished in the main peloton six second back, as did main challenger Jai Crawford of Australia.

Going into Sunday’s final stage, Munoz heads the general classification with a 1:08 lead over Genesys Wealth Advisers rider Crawford, and he also tops the points race and the climbers’ standings.

Stage five

Spain’s Oscar Pujol Munoz moved back into the overall lead after Stage 5 of the Tour de Singkarak on Friday.

The Azad University of Iran rider took the yellow jersey back from Australian Jai Crawford (Genesys Wealth Advisers), claimed the green jersey after topping the sprinters’ standings and retained the polka dot climbers’ jersey.

Munoz finished the 149km stage from Padang Panjang to Lake Singkarak in West Sumatra in three hours, 46 minutes and 54 seconds, finishing just behind Uzbek rider Shirisisan Hamid of Suren Team in a sprint finish.

Munoz now has a total time of 15:39:50.

Overnight leader Crawford finished seventh and fell to second in the standings, 1:01 behind Munoz.

Putra Perjuangan stayed on top of the teams’ classification, 23 seconds ahead of the Australian National Team.

Defending champions Azad moved up to third with 47:12:07.

Stage six is a 143.9km ride along the coast from Pariaman to Painan. Sunday’s final stage is a circuit race in Padang, the capital of West Sumatra.

Stage four

John Ebsen won stage four of the Tour de Singkarak, denying Spaniard Oscar Munoz Pujol a second straight win in West Sumatra, Indonesia.

The Dane, who rides for the Brunei-based CCN Cycling Team, beat Azard University Cross Team’s Munoz after a sprint finish in Bukittinggi.

Malaysian rider Mohammad Saufi Mat Senan of Terengganu Cycling Team completed the podium after finishing at the head of a four-man bunch four seconds behind.

Jai Crawford of Genesys Wealth Advisers finished fifth, meaning he takes the overall lead from Masakazu Ito.

Stage three

Oscar Pujol Munoz claimed the honours on stage three of the Tour de Singkarak to give defending race champions Azad University their first win of this year's event.

The Iranian team had not managed to get one of its riders onto the podium after the opening two stages in West Sumatra but Munoz got them back on track with victory after the hilly stage from Payakumbuh to Istano Basa.

Munoz becomes the first Spaniard to win a stage in the race.

"The most important thing in the tour is to recover well after every stage and, of course, the team has to develop a good strategy to be in front of others,” Munoz said.

"I hope to maintain this good performance.”

Munoz broke from the leading group on the second climb at Batipuh and maintained his lead until the finish line, which he crossed eight seconds ahead of his nearest rival.

Joel Pearson of Genesys Australia and Mohd Saufi Mat Senan of the Terengganu Cycling Team came in second and third respectively, each with the same time.

Overnight leader Masakazu Ito of the Aisan Racing Team finished in the main group to keep hold of the yellow jersey. Jai Crawford of Genesys Australia lies second overall, six seconds behind the Japanese.

Stage two

Hsiao Shih-hsin of the Action Cycling Team claimed stage two of the Tour de Singkarak in Lembah Harau, West Sumatra.

The Taiwanese finished the 124.5-kilometre ride from Muaro Sijunjung ahead of Alexander Edmondson of the Australian National Team and another Aussie Alexander Smyth of Plan B Racing Team.

Hsiao won a bunch sprint to claim victory after reaching the front of the pack with about 400m to go.

"I’m satisfied with this result and proud of my effort to win this stage," said Hsiao.

Stage one winner Masakazu Ito of Aisan Racing Team retained the overall leader's jersey after finishing in the same group and with the same time as Hsiao.

“I played it safe during the (second) stage,” Ito said. “I didn’t feel the urge to win it and just stayed with the leading group."

Stage one

Masakazu Ito of Japan's Aisan Racing Team won the opening stage of the Tour de Singkarak in Sawahlunto, West Sumatra.

The Japanese rider was part of an 18-man group which broke from the peloton 35 kilometres from the finish line.

Ito stamped his authority on the breakaway group 20 kilometres from the end of the stage and never looked back.

“The key of my victory was teamwork. Within 20 kilometres of the finish, I took the lead and preserved it until reaching finish line,” Ito said.

Jai Crawford of Genesys Wealth Adviser crossed the line second with Chun Kai Feng of the Action Cycling Team in third.


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account