Pedrosa quickest again as test ends

Wed, 09 Nov 19:44:00 2011

Dani Pedrosa and world champion Casey Stoner were first and second as Honda wrapped up its dominant MotoGP season with another commanding performance on the final Valencia test day.

Dani Pedrosa prueba moto 1000 c.c. en Valencia - 0

Riding the new 1000cc bike, Pedrosa set a best time of 1m31.807s in the morning to edge team-mate Stoner by 0.161 seconds.

Ben Spies was best of the rest for Yamaha, 0.370s adrift, and again representing the works team alone with team-mate Jorge Lorenzo still recovering from the hand injury he sustained at Phillip Island.

Tech 3's Cal Crutchlow and new team-mate Andrea Dovizioso completed the top five on two more Yamahas, as this time the Italian spent the whole day on the 1000cc bike after initially acclimatising to the Yamaha chassis with the 800cc engine for part of Tuesday.

Valentino Rossi was sixth for Ducati, continuing to work on the new-style chassis.

"The positives of this bike are certainly the engine, which I like, and the fact that it handles a bit better than the previous one," reflected Rossi.

"It’s definitely more fun, in part because you can get sideways more. The frame isn’t bad, but it needs work.

"We have to improve the braking, because I need to brake harder and later, and we need to improve traction under acceleration."

Alvaro Bautista marked his debut on the Gresini Honda with the ninth-fastest time.

At the back, best of the CRT bikes was Carmelo Morales on Laglisse's Suter-BMW.


1 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 1:31.807

2 Casey Stoner Repsol Honda Team 1:31.968

3 Ben Spies Yamaha Factory Racing 1:32.338

4 Cal Crutchlow Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:32.550

5 Andrea Dovizioso Monster Yamaha Tech3 1:33.256

6 Valentino Rossi Ducati Team 1:33.332

7 Karel Abraham Cardion AB Motoracing 1:33.433

8 Hector Barbera Pramac Racing Team 1:33.648

9 Alvaro Bautista San Carlo Honda Gresini 1:33.814

10 Stefan Bradl LCR Honda MotoGP 1:34.142

11 kousuke Akiyoshi Repsol Honda Team 1:34.546

12 Franco Battaini Ducati Team 1:34.840

13 Carmelo Morales TeamLaglisse 1:35.911

14 Ivan Silva BQR Inmotec 1:36.695

15 Yonny Hernandez BQR FTR 1:37.279

16 Federico Sandi Grillini Team 1:38.680


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account