Price and Calc share lead after ace

Sat, 10 Dec 11:54:00 2011

Nick Price scored a hole-in-one as he teamed up with Mark Calcavecchia to record a nine-under-par 63 at the Franklin Templeton Shootout and share the lead with Keegan Bradley and Brendan Steele.

Nick Price tees off - 0

Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker, champions in 2009, were just one stroke back in third with Rickie Fowler and Camilo Villegas another shot adrift in fourth.

While Price was the standout individual with the hole-in-one and a 30-foot birdie putt on the final hole, Bradley and Steele went through the final six holes at seven-under to storm into contention.

The 12 two-man teams will play a better-ball round on Saturday before the tournament finishes with a scramble on the Tiburon Golf Club’s Gold Course.

"We're 4 under through 11 holes, which we didn't really take advantage I think of the good start we got off to," Price said.

"And then what can you say when you make a hole-in-one? We go from 4 to 6 under, and now we're really looking at shooting a decent score today or a low score. It just got better and better."

Bradley singled out a 30-foot bogey putt on the ninth hole as the moment that kick-started the comeback.

"It was a big putt," Bradley said. "And the thing that was unbelievable was my putt was going to go by six or seven feet. It was cooking.

“So next thing you know, it turns into a double - six or seven, who knows? But that's the beautiful part - it went in."

Steele went on to hole a 12-foot putt on the 11th before Bradley added a 15-foot putt on the 13th and Steele scored an eagle and a birdie on the 14th and 17th respectively.

"Looking at a six, seven-footer for double in this format, that might have been the end of our tournament, but that going in, and then how quickly the momentum can change," Steele said.

"We felt as good as we could feel, walking off that green with a bogey."

Jason Dugner and Sean O’Hair carded a round of 66 to sit back in fifth, while Rory Sabbatini and Jhonattan Vegas hit a 67 for a share of sixth alongside the teams of Kenny Perry and Scott Stallings, Anthony Kim and Webb Simpson.

Chris DiMarco and Chad Campbell, and Charles Howell III and Justin Leonard were another shot back after a round of 68 while tournament host Greg Norman and Scott McCarron finished with a round of 69.

Stewart Cink and Bo Van Pelt sat last after a round of 70.


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account