Casper wins GP de Denain for fourth time

Thu, 14 Apr 17:57:00 2011

Jimmy Casper won the GP de Denain for the fourth time since 2005 in the fifth race of the Coupe de France.

- 0

Casper (Saur-Sojasun) triumphed in a sprint to the line, edging out compatriot Romain Feillu and Lithuanian Aidis Kruopis at the end of the 199km stage.

The early part of the day was dominated by a breakaway, with Steven Tronet (RLM), Romain Matheou (Saur), Italian Giorgio Brambila (De Rosa), Canada's Will Routley (Spidertech), as well as the Belgian Grégory Joseph (Topsport) striking out ahead.

The peloton allowed them to slip three and a half minutes up the field, before reeling in the lead they had amassed over the previous 140km.

The sprint became inevitable, and Casper, just as he had in 2005, 2006 and 2009, proved victorious.


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account