Zubeldia wins Tour de l'Ain

Eurosport - Sat, 14 Aug 20:29:00 2010

Haimar Zubeldia of RadioShack snatched overall victory in the Tour de l'Ain by just two-tenths of a second from Wouter Poels of Vacansoleil, who won the final stage in Belley, France.

- 0

Tony Gallopin's hopes of winning the GC from a leading position heading into the 126.1km stage four from Culo ended with him down in 20th at the finish, 38 seconds off the pace.

Zubeldia matched Poels's time, leaving the prologue result to decide the winner.

David Moncoutie (Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne) was second on the stage and third overall.

Zubeldia was fourth on the day, behind Thibault Pinot (Française Des Jeux). It was the 33-year-old's first race win in a decade.

"We knew it would be close today," he said. "There were some strong guys very close in the GC. We watched Moncoutie as he was potentially the most dangerous.

"In the end it was Poels who came up with the result. It's good we survived to take the victory."

Stage results

1 Wouter Poels (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team 3:15:39

2 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne

3 Thibault Pinot (Fra) Française Des Jeux

4 Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Team Radioshack

5 Fabrice Jeandesboz (Fra) Saur - Sojasun 0:00:03

6 Johann Tschopp (Swi) BBox Bouygues Telecom

7 Jérôme Coppel (Fra) Saur - Sojasun 0:00:05

8 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) Team HTC - Columbia

9 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) Omega Pharma-Lotto 0:00:28

10 Maxime Mederel (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93 0:00:38


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account