Goss moves top in Oman

Tue, 15 Feb 14:59:00 2011

Matt Goss claimed his sixth win of the season, edging a bunch sprint on the second stage of the Tour of Oman.

- 0

The HTC-Highroad rider clinched victory ahead of Leopard Trek’s Daniele Bennati, and Team Sky’s Edvald Boasson Hagen, as the 139.5km stage drew to a dramatic close in Al Wutayya.

"The last kilometre was quite tough there, slightly uphill and a little bit harder than I was expecting," said Goss, who moved to the top of the general classification. "I managed to hold on fine, it suited me well, having to accelerate out of the last corner.”

Stage one leader Theo Bos failed to reach the 72-strong leading group - which broke away mid-way through the stage - and finished 10 minutes and 34 seconds back.

"I tried to stay on the first five or ten wheels on the climb close to the finish today,” Goss continued. “It split about half-way up, and it split again over the top, but then it all came back together a little bit.

"We had five guys in the front group, they looked after me 'til the last kilometre, then [Hayden] Roulston did a turn on the front to keep the speed high and I sat in a little way further behind and waited for my moment.”

Goss now holds the red race-leader’s jersey – four seconds ahead of Bennati and another two clear of Boasson Hagen.

"It's great for the team,” the 24-year-old Australian added. “We came here wanting to get at least a stage win, now we can concentrate on seeing what we can do for the overall."

"It's been a great start to the season for me, but I hope to keep it going right to the end of the year."

The Tour continues with stage three on Thursday - a 208km circuit beginning and ending in Sur, Southern Oman.

Stage two results

1 Matthew Goss (AUS) HTC-Highroad 3:18:17

2 Daniele Bennati (ITA) Leopard Trek

3 Edvald Boasson Hagen (NOR) Sky Procycling

4 Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) BMC Racing Team

5 Danilo Hondo (GER) Lampre - ISD

6 Oscar Gatto (ITA) Farnese Vini - Neri Sottoli

7 Luca Paolini (ITA) Katusha Team

8 Lars Boom (NED) Rabobank Cycling Team

9 Simon Clarke (AUS) Pro Team Astana 0:00:03

10 Grega Bole (Slo) Lampre - ISD


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account