No Cavendish for Tour Down Under

Fri, 18 Nov 04:53:00 2011

The Sky Pro Cycling team will return to the Tour Down Under in January but recently-signed star Mark Cavendish will not be riding.

2011 Mark Cavendish - 0

Cavendish, the world's best road race sprinter and the world road race champion, competed in Adelaide this year with his former HTC-Highroad team but a heavy fall and other problems left him out of contention.

When HTC-Highroad folded, Cavendish joined Sky but has not been included in the team for the 2012 Tour Down Under.

The British outfit will be led by Norway's Edvald Boasson Hagen.

"We are really excited about the inclusion of Boasson Hagen in the team," Tour Down Under director Mike Turtur said on Friday.

"He is the current Norwegian national time trial champion for the fifth year running and a two-time Tour de France stage winner.

"He is fiercely competitive, young and hungry for a win."

Also included in the Sky team are Brits Geraint Thomas and Alex Dowsett, along with three Aussies, Michael Rogers, Chris Sutton and Mathew Hayman.

Rogers was the overall winner of the Tour Down Under in 2002.

The team will managed in Adelaide by Sean Yates with the tour to run from January 15-22.

Sky Pro Cycling team for the 2012 Santos Tour Down Under:

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor), Geraint Thomas (GBR), Chris Sutton (Aus), Alex Dowsett (GBR), Michael Rogers (Aus), Danny Pate (USA), Mathew Hayman (Aus).

AAP / Eurosport

Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account