No Tour Down Under for Cavendish

Fri, 18 Nov 05:14:00 2011

Team Sky will send a squad to Australia for the Tour Down Under in January, but new signing Mark Cavendish will not be in it.

2011 Mark Cavendish - 0

Cavendish endured a difficult time in Adelaide this year when riding for the now defunct HTC-Highroad team and a heavy fall and other problems left him out of contention.

For the race early next year, Norway's Edvald Boasson Hagen will lead the British team.

"We are really excited about the inclusion of Boasson Hagen in the team," Tour Down Under director Mike Turtur said.

"He is the current Norwegian national time trial champion for the fifth year running and a two-time Tour de France stage winner.

"He is fiercely competitive, young and hungry for a win."

The Sky team will also include three Australians Michael Rogers, Chris Sutton and Mathew Hayman

Team: Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor), Geraint Thomas (GBR), Chris Sutton (Aus), Alex Dowsett (GBR), Michael Rogers (Aus), Danny Pate (USA), Mathew Hayman (Aus).


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account