Formula One statistics for German Grand Prix


Wed, 20 Jul 13:00:00 2011

Formula One statistics for Sunday's German Grand Prix at Nuerburgring:



Ferrari have won 216 races in Formula One, McLaren 171, Williams 113 and champions Red Bull 21.

Michael Schumacher holds the record for victories by a driver, with 91. Ferrari's Fernando Alonso has the second most among current drivers (27).

Alonso's win at Silverstone this month took the Spaniard level with Britain's Jackie Stewart in equal fifth place in the all-time lists.

Ferrari have now won at least one race in every season since 1993.

Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel has won 16, McLaren's Lewis Hamilton 15, Williams' Rubens Barrichello 11 and McLaren's Jenson Button 10.

Vettel has won six of the nine races this season and nine of the last 13. Schumacher holds the record for most wins in a season (13 with Ferrari in 2004).

Only three drivers have won seven races in a season and not gone on to take the title: Schumacher (2006), Kimi Raikkonen (2005) and Alain Prost (1988 and 1984)

- - - -


Ferrari's British Grand Prix win came on the 60th anniversary of their first at the same circuit in 1951.

With Daniel Ricciardo making his debut for HRT at Silverstone, Australia had two drivers on the F1 starting grid for the first time since 1977 when Vern Schuppan and Larry Perkins were team mates at Surtees and Alan Jones was at Shadow.

Vettel's start to the season is the best ever by a driver. He has dropped just 21 of a possible 225 points so far.



Vettel has been on the podium for 11 races in a row. Schumacher holds the record of 19 (2001/02).



Vettel has been on pole in seven of the nine races this season. Red Bull have been on pole in all of them, with Australian Mark Webber taking the top slot in Spain and Britain.

The record for poles in a single season by a driver is 14 (Nigel Mansell, 1992)

Vettel has 22 career poles. Schumacher a record 68.

Red Bull's run of poles extends back to last season and the team have started the last 10 races from that position.

The record for successive poles by a constructor was set by Williams with 24 in 1992/93.

McLaren's last pole position was with Hamilton in Canada in June 2010. Ferrari's last was with Alonso in Singapore last September.



Vettel has qualified on the front row for the last 14 races. The record of 24 front row starts still belongs to the late Brazilian Ayrton Senna (1988/89).

Ferrari's Felipe Massa is the only driver to have been outqualified by his team mate in every race so far in 2011.



Webber has set the fastest lap in four of the season's nine races so far.



Since 1995, the driver on pole position at the Nuerburgring has gone on to win the race only three times (2001, 2004, 2009).

The last German driver to win in Germany was Michael Schumacher at Hockenheim in 2006. Schumacher also won at Nuerburgring that year.

Germany has six Formula One drivers (Vettel, Nico Rosberg, Schumacher, Nick Heidfeld, Adrian Sutil and Timo Glock) more than any other nation. Only Vettel and Schumacher have won races.



Vettel has now finished his last 11 races in the points. Schumacher holds the record of 24 successive scoring finishes.

Team Lotus, Hispania (HRT) and Virgin Racing have yet to score a point in Formula One since their debuts in Bahrain last year.


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account