Greipel storms to Eneco stage

Eurosport - Thu, 19 Aug 16:42:00 2010

HTC-Columbia's Andre Greipel produced a trademark sprint finish to win the second stage of the Eneco Tour.

- 0

Greipel, leaving for Omega Pharma-Lotto at the end of the season, surged clear to take line honours ahead of Katusha's Robbie McEwen, winner of stage one, and defending champion Edvald Boasson-Hagen.

Boasson-Hagen's Team Sky looked to have set their man up with the perfect lead out but Greipel sat of the Norwegian's wheel before surging clear to claim his 17th victory of the season.

Saxo Bank's Lucas Sebastian Haedo managed to finish fourth despite crashing during the closing stages of the 198.5km ride.

Greipel rises to third in the overall standings, one second behind Boasson-Hagen, who is in turn four seconds behind overnight leader Svein Tuft (Garmin-Transitions).

Stage three on Wednesday sees the peloton contest the 191.8km route to Ronse, Belgium.

Greipel storms to victory

Stage result

1. Andre Greipel ( Germany/HTC-Columbia) 4hrs 46mins 50secs

2. Robbie McEwen (Australia / Katusha) same time

3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway / Team Sky)

4. Sebastian Haedo (Argentina / Saxo Bank)

5. Yauheni Hutarovich (Belarus / FDJ)

6. Enrique Mata (Spain / Footon)

7. Wouter Weylandt (Belgium / Quick-Step)

8. Francesco Chicchi (Italy / Liquigas)

9. Allan Davis (Australia / Astana)

10. Kenny Dehaes (Belgium / Omega Pharma - Lotto)

Overall standings

1. Svein Tuft (Canada / Garmin) 9hrs 09mins 42secs

2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway / Team Sky) +3"

3. Andre Greipel (Germany / HTC - Columbia) +4"

4. Jos van Emden (Netherlands / Rabobank) +5"

5. Lars Boom (Netherlands / Rabobank) +6"

6. Maarten Tjallingii (Netherlands / Rabobank)

7. Tony Martin (Germany / HTC - Columbia) +7"

8. Richie Porte (Australia / Saxo Bank) +9"

9. Christian Knees (Germany / Milram) +11"

10. Patrick Gretsch (Germany / HTC - Columbia) +12"


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account