London 2012 - Chambers, Ennis in world indoors squad

Tue, 21 Feb 12:18:00 2012

UK Athletics selected defending world champions Jessica Ennis and Dwain Chambers among a 39-strong squad as part of their team for the 2012 World Indoor Championships in Istanbul.

Great Britain's Jessica Ennis in action in the Womens 60m Hurdles heats - 0

The in-form Mo Farah and Holly Bleasdale will also board the plane to the Turkish capital as the 2012 indoor season reaches its climax in March.

The team head to the showpiece occasion in sparkling form, with 19 personal bests and three British records having been broken already this year, in addition to three world-leading performances.

Performances of note included Ennis at the Birmingham Grand Prix in the 60m hurdles and long jump, as well as Bleasdale’s British record 4.87m in the pole vault set in France last month. 

Meanwhile, recently crowned national indoor 60m hurdles champion Andy Pozzi is one of five new caps representing the senior team for the first time. 

New UK indoor long jump record holder Shara Proctor, Christine Ohuruogu, Tiffany Porter and Yamile Aldama are some of the other key names selected for the 15th indoor world championships.

Andy Robertson, Andrew Sutcliffe and JJ Jegede have been selected on the proviso they attain the UKA qualification standard by 27 February.

UKA Head Coach Charles van Commenee said: “This is a strong team and one that can realistically challenge for medals and make finals.

“There are some good athletes coming through and I am looking forward to seeing how they perform on the senior international stage.

“There have been some good performances during the indoor season which bodes well for Istanbul and beyond. The indoor season gives useful information about how athletes are progressing. It is important to remember the focus still remains on London 2012.”

Great Britain and Northern Ireland team

MEN - 60m: Dwain Chambers & Andy Robertson 400m: Nigel Levine & Richard Buck 800m: Joe Thomas & Andrew Osagie 1500m: Lewis Moses & James Brewer 3000m: Mo Farah 60mH: Andy Pozzi High Jump: Samson Oni & Robbie Grabarz Pole Vault: Steve Lewis & Andrew Sutcliffe Long Jump JJ Jegede 4x400m: Nigel Levine, Richard Buck, Conrad Williams, Michael Bingham, James Forman, Luke Lennon Ford

WOMEN - 60m: Asha Philip & Jodie Williams 400m: Shana Cox & Nadine Okyere 800m: Marilyn Okoro 3000m: Helen Clitheroe 60mH: Tiffany Porter Pole Vault: Holly Bleasdale & Katie Byres Long Jump: Shara Proctor Triple Jump: Yamile Aldama Pentathlon: Jessica Ennis 4x400m: Shana Cox, Nadine Okyere, Nicola Sanders, Christine Ohuruogu, Perri Shakes-Drayton, Laura Langowski


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account