O'Sullivan wins first snooker event of season

Wed, 22 Jun 20:52:00 2011

A series of scintillating performances has helped Ronnie O'Sullivan win the opening snooker tournament of the season – PTC event one in Sheffield.

- 0

The Rocket breezed through four matches on the final day of the competition sealing the title with a 4-0 romp over Joe Perry in the final.

O'Sullivan finished the decider with breaks of 115 and 107 in the final two frames to wrap up the title in just 51 minutes.

He also had breaks of 120 and 104 in a 4-2 semi-final win over Joe Jogia and produced two more centuries (101 and 124) in beating his former practice partner Stuart Bingham in the quarters.

O'Sullivan has slipped to 11th in the world rankings after a couple of indifferent seasons but has recently said that his hunger for snooker has returned after seeing a sports psychologist.

It was the first title carrying ranking points that he has won since the 2009 Shanghai Masters 21 months ago.

"My game wasn't too bad," said the three-times World Champion. "Everone was rusty. I'm just having a go and doing my best. This is a big season for me, I'm giving myself one more year, or possibly two, to see if I can improve. It's a work in progress but I do feel some optimism.

"I'm still seeing (psychiatrist) Steve Peters. I still need help although I feel a lot better. There's tournaments all over the place now so I'm just taking it as it comes."

The tournament produced a host of shock results, with the likes of John Higgins, Judd Trump, Shaun Murphy, Mark Williams and Stephen Hendry all losing in the first round, while amateurs Eden Sharav and Robbie Williams got to the last 16.

The next PTC event runs from August 6-10 at the South West Academy in Gloucester. The top 24 after the 12 short events qualify for the Grand Finals next March - providing they play in at least three events in the UK and three in Europe.

Last 16 results

James Wattana 0-4†Joe Perry

Jamie Jones 4-3†Fergal O'Brien

Xiao Guodong 4-2†Liam Highfield

Graeme Dott 4-0†Robbie Williams

Stephen Maguire 3-4†Stuart Bingham

Ronnie O'Sullivan 4-2†Martin Gould

Joe Jogia 4-3†David Gilbert

Eden Sharav 0-4† Marcus Campbell††

Quarter-final results

Joe Perry†4-1 Jamie Jones

Xiao Guodong†3-4 Graeme Dott

Stuart Bingham†2-4 Ronnie O'Sullivan

Joe Jogia†4-1 Marcus Campbell

Semi-final results

Ronnie O'Sullivan 4-2 Joe Jogia

Joe Perry 4-2 Graeme Dott


Ronnie O'Sullivan 4-0 Joe Perry


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account