Menchov team misses out on ProTour

Mon, 22 Nov 19:19:00 2010

Spain's Geox-TMC, the team of Denis Menchov and Carlos Sastre, have missed out on a ProTeam license for 2011.

- 0

The International Cycling Union announced the 18 teams that had been registered as ProTeams, the sport's highest level formerly know as ProTour, for next year.

And Geox-TMC, who have taken over as title sponsors from Footon-Servetto, and Cofidis were the notable omissions.

It means Russian Menchov, who was third in this year's Tour de France with former team Rabobank and 2008 champion Sastre will require an invitation to compete in the Tour plus the Giro d'Italia and Vuelta a Espana as a UCI Professional Continental team.

The new Luxembourg Pro Cycling outfit, including Tour runner-up Andy Schleck, were registered along with Vacansoleil-DCM. Astana, BMC, Liguigas, HTC-Highroad, Euskaltel and Movistar - the latest incarnation of Caisse d'Epargne - also made the cut.

Ten teams had already had their licences approved: AG2R, Katusha, Lampre, Quick Step, Saxo Bank, RadioShack, Garmin-Cervelo, Omega Pharma-Lotto, Rabobank and Sky.

The complete list of UCI Professional Continental teams will be announced on December 10.


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account