World Cup 2010 - Stats point to Germans

Eurosport - Sun, 27 Jun 09:22:00 2010

Bookmakers are expecting over £30 million will be gambled on the outcome of England's match with Germany.

- 0

The previous biggest amount staked on a single game was just over £20 million pounds on the England v Portugal quarter-final in Gelsenkirchen in the 2006 World Cup.

It is expected over £1 billion pounds will be gambled for the first time on any one tournament, compared with about £750 million pounds in Germany.

And it is hard to split the teams with both sides odds against to win the match in 90 minutes with the draw at 2/1.

And there is good reason to think the match will finish in a stalemate after normal time:

- Their last World Cup meeting came 20 years ago with a 1-1 draw in the semi-final in Turin after 90 minutes.

- They drew 0-0 in the second group stage in 1982.

- In 1970, it was 2-2 in the quarter-final in Leon after normal time.

- The same scoreline as four years earlier in the final at Wembley before England's extra-time heroics.

It may be level after 90 minutes but the stats suggest that it will be Germany who reach the quarter-final.

- Since 1966, England have been knocked out by Germany in major tournaments on four consecutive occasions.

- England have never won a knockout match against a former world champion on foreign soil – losing to Brazil (1962), West Germany (1970), Argentina (1986), West Germany (1990), Argentina (1998) and Brazil (2002).

- Germany have reached the last eight in every World Cup since 1938.

- On the last three occasions that Great Britain has had an election in a World Cup year, Germany have reached at least the last four of the World Cup.

And dare we mention what will happen if the match goes to penalties.

- Germany have the best record in penalty shootouts in the World Cup – winning all four previous attempts against France (1982), Mexico (1986), England (1990) and Argentina (2006). They have scored 17 of 18 attempted penalties in the shootout, including their last 14 in a row since Uli Stielike’s miss in 1982.

- England have the worst record in penalty shootouts in the World Cup – losing all three previous attempts against (West) Germany (1990), Argentina (1998) and Portugal (2006). They have scored 7 and missed 7 of their previous 14 penalties in the shootout.

If Germany do progress how about a flutter on them going on to win the tournament.

- Germany have never gone more than 20 years between winning World Cups – their last victory was in 1990.


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account

Global World Cup coverage