Georges wins in France

Sat, 28 May 18:51:00 2011

Sylvain Georges won his first Coupe de France race by taking the Grand Prix de Plumelec-Morbihan in a sprint finish.

- 0

The 27-year-old from Clermont-Ferrand, riding for BigMat,recently lost out at the Rhones-Alpes Isere Tour but beat Pierrick Fedrigo of Francaise des Jeux and Jeremie Galland of Saur-Sojasun at the end of a 181km course.

Julien Guay, Julien Simon and Tony Gallopin completed an all-French top six, all with the same time as winner Georges: four hours, 32 minutes and five seconds.

Romain Feillu remains Coupe de France leader with 110 points, with Gallopin closing the gap to nine from second.

George lies third overall, on 93 points.

Grand Prix de Plumelec-Morbihan result (all with times of 4:32:05 and France unless specified)

1. Sylvain Georges

2. Pierrick Fedrigo

3. Jeremie Galland

4. Julien Guay

5. Julien Simon

6. Tony Gallopin

7. Rob Ruijgh (Netherlands)

8. Yohan Cauquil

9. Jonathan Fumeaux (Switzerland)

10. Julien El Fares

Coupe de France standings:

1. Romain Feillu (Vacansoleil) 110 points

2. Tony Gallopin (Cofidis) 101

3. Sylvain Georges (BigMat) 93

4. Sandy Casar (FDJ) 75

5. Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) 70


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account