Tour de France - Hushovd and Farrar lead Garmin

Wed, 29 Jun 03:26:00 2011

Sprinters Thor Hushovd and Tyler Farrar will lead Garmin-Cervelo's challenge for stage honours at this year's Tour de France.

- 0

The American team announced the nine-man line-up for the race, which starts on Saturday, with the duo headlining their roster.

Lithuanian champion Ramunas Navardauskas, the team's youngest rider at the age of 23, makes his debut along with American Tom Danielson.

"We needed a team that could give us options in the overall (standings) but also for stage wins and with this squad, we have that," said team boss Jonathan Vaughters.

Garmin's bid for a high overall placing on the Tour will be enhanced by American Christian Vande Velde, a two-time top-10 finisher, and Canadian Ryder Hesjedal, seventh overall last year.

Meanwhile, Briton David Millar and American David Zabriskie will provide a threat in both the team time trial and the penultimate stage time trial.

Despite his impressive victory in the Paris-Roubaix classic earlier this year, there was no place for Johan Vansummeren.

"With such a strong team, and so many riders going so well all season, this was our most difficult Tour selection yet," added Vaughters.

"When you have 15 or 18 riders capable of riding the Tour, it becomes difficult, and it's hard to leave guys like Johan home.

"But, I'm confident that we have found the right mix in this group, and I have absolute faith in these riders. It's going to be an exciting Tour."

Squad: Tom Danielson (USA), Julian Dean (NZL), Tyler Farrar (USA), Ryder Hesjedal (CAN), Thor Hushovd (NOR), David Millar (GBR), Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU), Christian Vande Velde (USA), David Zabriskie (USA)


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account