Flores makes history in Tahiti

Mon, 29 Aug 08:48:00 2011

Jeremy Flores became the third surfer in history to lock in a perfect 20 heat total as the quarter-final line-up was decided at Billabong Pro Tahiti.

Jeremy Flores - 0

With pristine eight-to-10 foot barrels detonating across the reef at Teahupo’o, the fifth event of the ASP World Title season completed the remaining round three heats before bolting through rounds four and five.

France's Flores, currently 15th on the World Title rankings, produced his feat against an in-form Michel Bourez.

“I’m so stoked!” Flores exclaimed.

“What’s on my mind right now is I just had a heat out there with Michel (Bourez), one of my best friends on tour and it’s so big and perfect and we got some amazing barrels. I was saying the other day that I’d never got a 10 before and that I’d like to get one, and now I’ve gotten two in the same heat.

“It’s as good as it gets out there. They are just so hollow and just keep spinning forever. It’s incredible. This is everything I ever wanted in a surf, let alone a contest. It’s the best surf of my life.”

Flores will take on Josh Kerr in the last eight.

Owen Wright produced the second highest heat total of the year, a 19.77, and will battle Raoni Monteiro in the quarters.

Ten-time world champion Kelly Slater continued to breeze through the competition and with the top five on the World Title rankings eliminated, the American veteran stands to benefit significantly.

Slater will take on Matt Wilkinson in the quarter-finals while Travis Logie will face Brett Simpson.


Heat 4: Michel Bourez (PYF) def. Dusty Payne (USA) – Payne withdrew from competition due to injury sustained during a free surf on Thursday afternoon.

Heat 5: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 15.77 def. Jadson Andre (BRA) 14.94

Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) 17.60 def. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA) 15.84

Heat 7: Travis Logie (ZAF) 14.93 def. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 12.43 – Re-surfed at the end of the round.

Heat 8: Chris Davidson (AUS) 11.77 def. Tiago Pires (PRT) 10.86

Heat 9: Brett Simpson (USA) 17.26 def. Damien Hobgood (USA) 16.70

Heat 10: Owen Wright (AUS) 16.80 def. Taylor Knox (USA) 5.00

Heat 11: Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 12.20 def. C.J. Hobgood (USA) 6.44

Heat 12: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 12.60 def. Mick Fanning (AUS) 7.93


Heat 1: Josh Kerr (AUS) 16.30, Jeremy Flores (FRA) 12.16, Kai Otton (AUS) 8.10

Heat 2: Kelly Slater (USA) 13.77, Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 6.50, Michel Bourez (PYF) 2.90

Heat 3: Travis Logie (ZAF) 15.66, Brett Simpson (USA) 15.00, Chris Davidson (AUS) 14.43

Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) 19.77, Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 12.23, Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 11.60


Heat 1: Jeremy Flores (FRA) 20 def. Michel Bourez (PYF) 18.13

Heat 2: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 11.84 def. Kai Otton (AUS) 11.56

Heat 3: Brett Simpson (USA) 17.33 def. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 14.00

Heat 4: Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 15.50 def. Chris Davidson (AUS) 15.14


QF 1: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Jeremy Flores (FRA)

QF 2: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)

QF 3: Travis Logie (ZAF) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)

QF 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)


Not already a Yahoo! user ? to get a free Yahoo! Account