There have been an unusual amount of controversial - okay, who are we kidding? Wrong - decisions already in this Ashes series, but perhaps the most absurd call came on the fourth day at Lord's.
Ashton Agar - Australia's teenage hero with the bat in the first Test at Trent Bridge - was given 'not out' by the on-field umpire Morais Erasmus as Tim Bresnan bowled a delivery outside his off stump.
The bat was close to the ball, but Hot Spot revealed NOTHING as the decision was reviewed by England on the field. So the original call was upheld, right? Wrong.
The third umpire, Tony Hill, whose decision to rule out a Steve Smith catch on day three led to an obscene tweet being posted on the official Cricket Australia account, adjudged that Agar must have actually hit the ball.
What did he base this on? Apparently the TV umpire believed that there was a noise and a deflection as the ball travelled through to wicketkeeper Matt Prior, but the evidence presented was far from clear - despite the use of numerous gizmos and slow-mo replays.
The controversial decision left poor Agar utterly bewildered as he trudged off the field not understanding what he had done wrong, while former Australia leg-spin legend Shane Warne led the furious response on social media and Sky's TV coverage.
Former England captain Alec Stewart agreed with Warne, only in a slightly less strong fashion.
Indeed, there was little or no support for the third umpire on this occasion as the DRS was brought in to "eliminate the howler" and not for the man sat up in a box with a TV to respond to the on-field umpire's judgment with a pure guess of his own.
Below are screenshots of the ball which dismissed Agar and Hot Spot's view of the incident - note the lack of a white spot showing up on the face of the bat.
- Sports & Recreation
- Shane Warne