Early Doors

Fans vote to omit Messi from UEFA’s Team of the Year

Early Doors

Lionel Messi, who lost his World Player of the Year crown to Cristiano Ronaldo this week, has failed to make the Team of the Year picked by users of UEFA's website.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Cristiano Ronaldo were picked as forwards in the team which was dominated by players from the Bundesliga and La Liga.

Arsenal's Mesut Ozil was the only current Premier League player to make the line-up and there were none at all from Serie A.

UEFA said that 6.3 million people cast votes in the poll on its website. Real Madrid and Portugal forward Ronaldo was included for a record seventh successive year while Paris St Germain's Brazilian Thiago Silva was the only non-European.

It is the first time since 2007 that Messi has not made the team.

UEFA Team of the Year

Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)

Defenders: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Thiago Silva (Paris St Germain), Philipp Lahm (Bayern Munich), David Alaba (Bayern Munich)

Midfielders: Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund) Mesut Ozil (Real Madrid/Arsenal), Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur/Real Madrid), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich)

Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris St Germain)


View comments (75)