London Spy

Sport guide: Boxing

London Spy

View gallery



Long before the start of the 2012 Games, the big story from the boxing arena was the admission of women fighters.

Women didn't take part at all in the first Olympics, there were fewer than 20 at the second edition and as they gradually made their mark, they were usually heavily protected. For example, the women's 800 metres track event was dropped between 1928 and 1960 because it was considered too demanding.

However, female weightlifters were welcomed in 2000, the wrestlers followed in 2004 and now the boxers have joined.

In the year of Muhammad Ali's 70th birthday, commentators will doubtless reminisce about the career of the man who won light-heavyweight gold in 1960 as Cassius Clay and on the other fighters whose Olympic gold medals were a launchpad towards world titles, including Joe Frazier, George Foreman, Floyd Patterson and Sugar Ray Leonard.

But for Olympic achievements alone, three names stand out. Hungarian László Papp was the first boxer to win three gold medals, taking the middleweight title in 1948 and light-middleweight in 1952 and 1956, while Cuban powerhouse Teófilo Stevenson hammered his way to the heavyweight crown in 1972, 1976 and 1980, and his compatriot, Félix Savón, repeated the feat in 1992, 1996 and 2000.

Remarkably, Cuba sit second in the boxing medals table behind the United States, but in Beijing four years ago they failed to win a gold for the first time since 1968.


1. Shin Jong-Hun (Korea)
2.. Zou Shiming (China)
3. David Ayrapetyan (Russia)
3. Purevdorj Serdamba (Mongolia)
5. Patrick Barnes (Ireland)
6. Jose Kelvin de la Nieve (Spain)
7. Salman Alizada (Azerbaijan)
8. Amandeep Singh (India)
1. Misha Aloyan (Russia)
2. Andrew Selby (Great Britain)
3. Jasurbek Latipov (Uzbekistan)
3. Rau'Shee Warren (United States)
5. Vincenzo Picardi (Italy)
6. Tugstsogt Nyambayar (Mongolia)
7. Ronny Beblik (Germany)
8. Chang Yong (China)
1. Lazaro Alvarez (Cuba)
2. Luke Campbell (Great Britain)
3. Anvar Yunusov (Tajikistan)
3. John Joe Nevin (Ireland)
5. Detelin Dalakliev (Bulgaria)
6. Eduard Abzalimov (Russia)
7. Veaceslav Gojan (Moldova)
8. Enkhbat Badar Uugan (Mongolia)
1. Domenico Valentino (Italy)
2. Vasyl Lomachenkov (Ukraine)
3. Gani Zhaylauov (Kazakhstan)
3. Yasniel Toledo (Cuba)
5. Jose Pedraza (Puerto Rico)
6. Albert Selimov (Russia)
7. Fatih Keles (Turkey)
8. Koba Pkhakadze (Georgia)
1. Everton Lopes (Brazil)
2. Denys Berinchyk (Ukraine)
3. Thomas Stalker (Great Britain)
3. Vincenzo Mangiacapre (Italy)
5. Rosniel Iglesias (Cuba)
6. Munkh Erdone Uranchimeg (Mongolia)
7. Gyula Kate (Hungary)
8. Raymond Moylett (Ireland)
1. Serik Sapiyev (Kazakhstan)
2. Taras Shelestyuk (Ukraine)
3. Egidijus Kavaliauskas (Lithuania)
3. Vikas Krishan (India)
5. Andrey Zamkovoy (Russia)
6. Magomed Nurudinov (Belarus)
7. Fred Evans (Great Britain)
8. Carlos Banteaux (Cuba)
1. Ievgen Khytrov (Ukraine)
2. Ryota Murata (Japan)
3. Bogdan Juratoni (Romania)
3. Esquiva Falcão (Brazil)
5. Andranik Hakobyan (Armenia)
6. Abbos Atoev (Uzbekistan)
7. Vijender Kumar (India)
8. Maxim Koptyakov (Russia)
1. Julio Cesar de la Cruz (Cuba)
2. Elshod Rasulov (Uzbekistan)
3. Adilbek Niyazimbetov (Kazakhstan)
3. Artur Beterbiev (Russia)
5. Abdelkader Bouhenia (France)
6. Kenneth Egan (Ireland)
7. Fanlong Meng (China)
8. Kim Hyeong-Kyu (Korea)
1. Oleksandr Usyk (Ukraine)
2. Teymur Mammadov (Azerbaijan)
3. Egor Mekhontsev (Russia)
3. Wang Xuanxuan (China)
5. Sergey Karneyev (Belarus)
6. Osmay Acosta (Cuba)
7. Tervel Pulev (Bulgaria)
8. Mohammad Ghosson (Syria)
1. Magomedrasul Medzhidov (Azerbaijan)
2. Roberto Cammarelle (Italy)
3. Anthony Joshua (Great Britain)
3. Zhang Zhilei (China)
5. Ivan Dychko (Kazakhstan)
6. Erik Pfeifer (Germany)
7. Roman Kapitanenko (Ukraine)
8. Viktor Zuyev (Belarus)
1. Ren Cancan (China)
2. Nicola Adams (Great Britain)
3. Elena Saveleva (Russia)
3. Karolina Michalczuk (Poland)
5. Tatyana Kob (Hungary)
6. Hanne Maekinen (Finland)
7. Chungneijang Marykom (India)
8. Kim Hyang Ok (DPR Korea)
1. Katie Taylor (Ireland)
2. Sofia Ochigava (Russia)
3. Dong Cheng (China)
3. Mavzuna Chorieva (Tajikistan)
5. Natasha Jonas (Great Britain)
6. Karolina Graczyk (Poland)
7. Queen Underwood (United States)
8. Sarita Devi (India)
1. Savannah Marshall (Great Britain)
2. Elena Vystropova (Azerbaijan)
3. Li Jinzi (China)
3. Nadezhda Torlopova (Russia)
5. Anna Laurell (Sweden)
6. Mary Spencer (Canada)
7. Liliya Durnyeva (Ukraine)
8. Maria Kovacs (Hungary)

Men will contest 10 weight divisions and women just three. Women's bouts will take place over four rounds of two minutes each with me participating in three rounds of three minutes each.

But scoring will be the same, with points awarded for punches landed on the head and upper body. The old scoring system where at least three judges had to register the point within a second of the punch being landed by pushing an electronic button has been discarded. Now at the end of each round, boxers receive a score which is an average of the three judges’ scores that are most similar with no time limit on recording hits.

The draws for all men’s weight categories contain either 16, 26 or 28 boxers and all events are run in a knockout format. The draws for all women’s weight categories contain 12 boxers. The winners of the two semi-finals in each weight category compete for the gold medal, with the losers of the two semi-finals each awarded a bronze.


View gallery



View gallery


Sorry you didn't like this comment. Please provide a reason below.

Are you sure?
Rating failed. Try again.
Request failed. Try again.
We will promote constructive and witty comments to the top, so that everyone sees them!
Sorry, we can’t load comments right now. Try again.

    Win cash in one day fantasy football contests. Join now!

    Learn how to play

    Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
    Premier League Cup Round 3 [£1.5K Free] 29101/500000 Free £1500 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £1,500 Saturday 27/335 £5 £1500 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £500 Saturday 5/55 £10 £500 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter