Pitchside Europe

Ballon d’Eurosport – No.10: Luis Suarez


View gallery

This summer Eurosport is counting down the world's greatest footballers, as voted by our international network of journalists. We will reveal one player per day, culminating in the election of the first Ballon d'Eurosport on July 19.

The Ballon d'Eurosport explained.

- - -

Undoubtedly one of the most exciting strikers in the Premier League, Luis Suarez is blessed with great technical skill and the ability to twist opposition defenders inside out.

A touch inconsistent in front of goal, Suarez has often made the impossible look easy while squandering far simpler opportunities. Despite this, the Uruguayan striker ended last season with 23 league goals in 33 games for Liverpool and was the shining light in a mixed season for the Reds.

Controversy is never far from Suarez. Having been found guilty of racially abusing Manchester United’s Patrice Evra in 2011, the striker was handed a 10-match suspension in April for biting Chelsea’s Branislav Ivanovic.

He has recently expressed his desire to leave Anfield and, despite his poor disciplinary record, will likely attract the attention of a number of Europe’s elite clubs.

The UK/Ireland office, unsurprisingly, gave Suarez his highest number of votes.

Liverpool’s continued absence from the Champions League, however, has prevented the striker from showcasing his talent in Europe’s premier competition.

If Suarez is to join one of Europe’s top clubs this summer, expect him to feature higher in the future.

- - -

How Eurosport voted

We asked the editorial teams of 10 countries/areas around the Eurosport network to compile their list of the world's 25 best players.

Then we did the sums, Eurovision-style. It's simple: a first-place vote is worth 25 points, second place is 24... all the way down to one point for a 25th-place vote.

View gallery


The Ballon d'Eurosport so far
30-Sergio Aguero
29-Sergio Ramos
28-Wayne Rooney
27-Yaya Toure
26-Arjen Robben
25-Mario Balotelli
24-Juan Mata
23-Manuel Neuer
22-Thomas Mueller
21-Marco Reus
20-Mesut Ozil
18-Arturo Vidal
17-Mario Goetze
16-Thiago Silva
15-Philipp Lahm
13-Andrea Pirlo
12-Robert Lewandowski
11-Edinson Cavani

View comments (32)