The eight teams going to the 2014 World Cup that weren’t there in 2010

The Rio Report

View photo


The 32 teams headed to the 2014 World Cup in Brazil are set and there will be a few different countries represented compared to four years ago in South Africa. In total, there are eight changes since the last World Cup, but before singling them out, here is the full 2014 field:

Asia (AFC): Australia, Iran, Japan, South Korea

Africa (CAF): Algeria, Cameroon, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Nigeria

North, Central America and Caribbean (CONCACAF): Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico, USA

South America (CONMEBOL): Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Uruguay

Europe (UEFA): Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, England, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Russia, Spain, Switzerland

Spot the differences? Well even if you did, we're going to go through them anyway. First, from the AFC.


Last appearance: 2006

North Korea are out and Iran fill their place among the four teams to qualify from the AFC (the other three remain the same). Led by former Real Madrid and Portugal manager Carlos Queiroz, Iran finished atop their qualifying group ahead of South Korea.

In the CAF, all five countries to qualify were also represented in 2010. The only African team not going to Brazil will be South Africa, who only qualified in 2010 through their host exemption. So there shouldn't be any tears shed there.

New Zealand will miss out on a second consecutive World Cup appearance after losing their playoff to Mexico. This means CONCACAF will have four representatives and the Oceana Football Confederation will have none. The new side from CONCACAF:

Costa Rica

Last appearance: 2006

Costa Rica finished second in CONCACAF qualifying, behind the USA and ahead of Honduras, forcing Mexico into that playoff against New Zealand. But all five of their wins came at home. The good news, however, is that it probably won't snow during the World Cup.

With Brazil getting South Africa's host exemption, CONMEBOL will have one more representative than last time. And with Paraguay failing to qualify after their storybook run into the quarterfinals, cheered on by "girlfriend of the world cup" Larissa Riquelme, last time, there will be two different South American teams present next summer.


Last appearance: 1998

Currently ranked fourth in the world, Colombia appear poised to improve on their teams of the '90s led by playmaker Carlos Valderrama.


Last appearance: 2006

The death of 27-year-old striker Chucho Benitez in July brought sadness to Ecuador's triumphant qualifying run. But they dedicated their performances to him and reached the World Cup for the third time since 2002.

Four of UEFA's 13 teams will be different, with Denmark, Serbia, Slovakia and Slovenia all missing out. Replacing them will be...


Last appearance: 2002

Like Colombia, Belgium have rocketed up the FIFA rankings and their young squad is a popular dark horse to make it deep into the tournament.

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Last appearance: Never (competed as part of Yugoslavia between 1930 and 1990)

Though they were in arguably the weakest UEFA qualifying group, Bosnia and Herzegovina still finished at the top with just one loss, leaving second place to Greece.


Last appearance: 2006

Finished a distant second to the aforementioned Belgium in their qualifying group and beat Iceland in the playoff round.


Last appearance: 2002

Fabio Capello's boys edged out Portugal to first place in their qualifying group. As an added bonus, they're also the first time to qualify for the 2018 World Cup as the host nation. So even if they perform worse than they did at Euro 2012, they still have that to fall back on. Which is fun.

Brooks Peck | Dirty Tackle

View comments (4)