World of Sport

Keeper saves unjust penalty – twice!

World of Sport

El Nacional goalkeeper Adrian Bone wasn't going to let the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune ruin his day on Sunday.

With his team losing 2-0, the keeper raced off his line to make an important interception on 71 minutes, only to be harshly penalised for a foul.

No bother, Bone promptly saved the spot-kick with a great save to his right.

Job done - or so you might think. But immediately the keeper's delight turned sour as the referee ordered the spot-kick to be retaken due to encroachment.

However, Bone showed his resilient streak once again by palming out the next effort as well.

Nacional went on to lose the match in the Ecuardorian top flight but at least you could never accuse their keeper of being Bone idle.

View comments (1)