The 11 legends of the Triple Crown

This Saturday’s Belmont Stakes in New York is the final leg of the USA’s Triple Crown, which has been won by a mere 11 horses.


Affirmed has been waiting for a successor since 1978. Ridden by Steve Cauthen and trained by Lazaro Barrera, the three-year-old was the last horse to win the Triple Crown, following up victories in the Preakness Stakes and Kentucky Derby with success in the Belmont Stakes.

Two horses have come close since then: War Emblem, who was unexpectedly beaten in the final leg by Sarava in 2002; and Smarty Jones, who finished last behind Birdstone in front of an expectant 120,000 crowd two years later.

The last horse to pull off the treble before Affirmed was Seattle Slew just a year earlier, ridden by the Agen-born jockey Jean Cruguet.

In 1973 Secretariat won all three races, the first horse to do so since the 1940s, when Eddie Arcaro became the only jockey to achieve the feat twice, first with Whirlaway in 1941 and then with Citation seven years on.

In the previous decade Jim Fitzsimmons achieved history by saddling up two Triple Crown winners in Gallant Fox in 1930 and Omaha five years later, an achievement no other trainer has yet matched.

The four other horses to have pulled off this most special of hat-tricks are Assault (1946), Count Fleet (1943), Sir Barton (1919), and last but most certainly not least, the legendary War Admiral, who won the Triple Crown in 1937 and became the arch-rival of the much-loved Seabiscuit, their compelling duel being immortalised in a recent film.

Sorry you didn't like this comment. Please provide a reason below.

Are you sure?
Rating failed. Try again.
Request failed. Try again.
We will promote constructive and witty comments to the top, so that everyone sees them!
Sorry, we can’t load comments right now. Try again.

    Win cash in one day fantasy football contests. Join now!

    Learn how to play

    Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
    Premier League £1,500 Saturday 18/335 £5 £1500 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £600 Saturday 0/26 £25 £600 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £300 Saturday 31/340 £1 £300 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter