10 All-Ireland final survivors in Donegal team to face Kerry

Jackie Cahill
10 All-Ireland final survivors in Donegal team to face Kerry

Donegal will line out with ten survivors from the team beaten by Kerry in last year’s All-Ireland final for next Sunday’s Allianz Football League Division 1 rematch.

Mark McHugh, Christy Toye, Martin O’Reilly, Patrick McBrearty and Hugh McFadden are the men added to the side as the Ulster men look to avenge last September’s Croke Park defeat.

There is just one change to the team beaten by Monaghan last weekend, as McFadden replaces Eamonn Doherty.

Meanwhile, the Kerry team shows three changes in personnel and a number of positional changes from the side that lost to Cork in Round 4.

Peter Crowley and Killian Young come in in place of Fionn Fitzgerald and Jack Sherwood in the half-back line, while up front, Paul Geaney replaces the injured Michael Geaney, who is suffering from a back strain.

Daithí Casey replaces Shane O’Callaghan in the match-day squad, while Kieran Donaghy captains the side.

Donegal team:

1. Paul Durcan (The Four Masters)

2. Paddy McGrath (Ardara)
3. Neil McGee (Gweedore)
4. Éamonn McGee (Gweedore)

5. Frank McGlynn (Glenfin)
6. Karl Lacey (The Four Masters)
7. Mark McHugh (Chíll Chartha)

8. Neil Gallagher (Glenswilly)
9. Christy Toye (Naomh Mícheál)

10. Martin Reilly (Seán MacCumhaill’s)
11. Odhrán MacNiallais (Gweedore)
12. Ryan McHugh (Chíll Chartha)

13. Patrick McBrearty (Chíll Chartha)
14. Michael Murphy (Glenswilly)
15. Hugh McFadden (Na Cealla Beaga)


16. Michael Boyle (Termon)
17. Declan Walsh (Malin)
18. Anthony Thompson (Naomh Conaill)
19. Éamonn Doherty (Naomh Adhamhnáin)
20. Joe Gibbons (Glenswilly)
21. Martin McElhinney (Naomh Mícheál)
22. Gary McFadden (Glenswilly)
23. Colm McFadden (Naomh Mícheál)
24. Daniel McLaughlin (Naomh Mícheál)
25. Eoin McHugh (Chíll Chartha)
26. Eamonn Ward (Glenswilly)

Kerry team:

1. Brendan Kealy (Kilcummin)

2. Pa Kilkenny (Glenbeigh/Glencar)
3. Mark Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore)
4. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)

5. Jonathan Lyne (Killarney Legion)
6. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
7. Killian Young (Renard)

8. Anthony Maher (Duagh)
9. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys)

10. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)
11. Bryan Sheehan (St Marys)
12. Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes)

13. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
14. Kieran Donaghy (C) (Austin Stacks)
15. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys)


16. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)
17. Jack Sherwood (Firies)
18. Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes)
19. Tommy Walsh (Kerins O’Rahillys)
20. Alan Fitzgerald (Castlegregory)
21. Shane Enright (Tarbert)
22. Philip O’Connor (Cordal)
23. Paul O’Donoghue (St Marys)
24. Padraig O’Connor (Killarney Legion)
25. Kieran O’Leary (Dr Crokes)
26. Daithí Casey (Dr Crokes)

5 new players come into Mayo team ahead of Dublin encounter

Tyrrell, Kernan, Podge, Bubbles and more: Staggering reaction to #TheToughestTrade

Hurler of the Year Richie Hogan was quick off the mark on Twitter last night