AFC Leopards 0-1 Sofapaka: Ingwe drop valuable points

AFC Leopards paved way for Gor Mahia on the league ladder after falling to Sofapaka on Wednesday

Sofapaka beat AFC Leopards 1-0 in a Kenyan Premier League match played at Machakos County Stadium on Wednesday.

Former Ingwe midfielder Charles Okwemba scored in the 48th minute to give Sofapaka a slim lead which eventually handed the Batoto ba Mungu all the match’s points.

Moses ‘Dube’ Odhiambo and Wanok Pate were instrumental for Sofapaka in the first-half but defenders Robinson Kamura, Joshua Mawira, Marcus Abwao and Abdalla Salim cleared all dangers.

One incident where Sofapaka came very close was in the 33rd minute, when Pate and ‘Dube’ combined well but the effort bore no fruit in the end.

After the Okwemba goal, head Coach Stewart Hall introduced striker Marcellus Ingotsi and midfielder Samuel Ndung'u in a bid to return to the game but Sofapaka were already keen on maintaining their lead.

Kennedy Oduor and Jonathan Mugabi showcased wonderful skills with threats against AFC Leopards that could have widen the margin but the hosts resorted to protect their keeper Ian Otieno.

Allan Kateregga and Gilbert Fiamenyo were reduced to average players by the energetic Sofapaka ensuring that the score-line stands by the end of the match. 

With this result, AFC Leopards have now dropped two positions down to occupy the fourth place as Sofapaka move to third. Gor Mahia, who beat Bandari in an earlier match are now at position two behind the on-form Posta Rangers.

AFC Leopards: Ian Otieno, Robinson Kamura, Joshua Mawira, Marcus Abwao, Abdalla Salim, Bernard Mang’oli, Duncan Otieno, Andrew Tololowa, Whyvonne Isuza, Allan Kateregga, Gilbert Fiamenyo.

Subs: Gabriel Andika, Marcellus Ingotsi, Ramadhan Yakubu, Mike Kibwage, Haron Nyakha, Ibrahim Mao, Samuel Ndung'u.

Sofapaka: Mathias Kigonya, Maurice Odipo, James Kasibante, Humphrey Okoti, Jonathan Mugabi, Mohammed Kilume, Paul Odhiambo, Moses Odhiambo, Pate Wanok, Charles Okwemba, Michael Oduor.

Subs: George Opiyo (GK), Edmond Kwanya, Kennedy Oduor, Jonson Bagoole, Ezekiel Okare, Brian Magonya, Salim Gichuki.

By using Yahoo you agree that Yahoo and partners may use Cookies for personalisation and other purposes