Carlo Ancelotti is not losing sleep over a possible four-game ban, but the Real Madrid boss remains adamant his side were hard done by to concede a penalty against Girona.
Madrid were held to a 1-1 draw in LaLiga on Sunday after Marco Asensio was deemed by VAR to have handled in the area.
Cristhian Stuani converted the subsequent spot-kick, while Toni Kroos was sent off late on, to prompt a furious reaction from Ancelotti after the full-time whistle, with the Italian claiming the "penalty is an invention".
Ancelotti's comments could land him with a four-game ban, with a decision due this week, but ahead of Madrid's Champions League clash with Celtic on Wednesday, he was unrepentant.
"They can suspend me, or not – four games, we'll wait and see," he stated. "I've sat on the bench 1,200 times or more. If I miss four, I miss four.
"I still sleep at night. I want to clarify that I haven't disrespected anyone. I've said one thing that everyone in football understands.
"What is clear is that the referee association have complained about something I said. I'm not doubting the professionalism of a referee, I've never not respected a referee, I try and respect everyone."
Ancelotti believes the referee did not interpret the rules in the same way it was described to LaLiga's coaches at the start of the campaign.
He added: "The problem is, was it a penalty or was it not a penalty? I don't think it was, based on what they told us at the start of the season.
"Maybe they've changed the rules. If so, they should let us know, or is this always going to be a penalty from now on.
"We'd just like things to be clear. If it was a mistake, just say it was a mistake – everyone can make mistakes.
"If they tell us that this is a penalty, they have to explain it. I am not stupid and the rule that they have explained to us has told us that it was not a penalty."
Asked if VAR should have overruled the on-pitch official, Ancelotti replied: "Sometimes the VAR has more prominence than the referee.
"The VAR came in to clarify clear errors... I understand that it is a very, very fine line, but it did seem to me that awarding the penalty was a clear error."