Ashes - England unchanged for second Test at Lord's after opening victory

England named an unchanged 13-man squad for the second Test match at Lord's after winning the opening Ashes contest at Trent Bridge.

Ashes - Was this the most bizarre Ashes dismissal ever?

View photo

England's Graeme Swann celebrates with his team-mates at Trent Bridge (Reuters)

England clinched a dramatic 14-run victory in the first Test match at Trent Bridge to go 1-0 up in the series in thrilling fashion, despite a last-wicket stand from Australia that threatened to snatch an improbable victory.

After sealing the opening win, Alastair Cook's squad will have no alterations ahead of the second Test at the home of cricket, with only one selection dilemma awaiting the captain and team manager, Andy Flower.

Paceman Steven Finn struggled for rhythm and confidence during the opening Test in Nottingham and his place in the side has come under threat, despite Lord's being the Middlesex bowler's home ground.

Graham Onions and Tim Bresnan represent the alternative options for England in the four-man bowling attack should Finn be dropped for the second Test.

Announcing the squad, national selector Geoff Miller lauded Cook's side on the "composure" they demonstrated in holding their nerve on the final day.

"It was a fantastic start to the Investec Test series, with both sides showing a huge amount of skill and determination," he said.

View photo


"I would like to congratulate England on showing a great deal of composure to win by 14 runs.

"I have no doubt that the rest of the series will be equally compelling.

"We have selected the same squad for the Lord's Test, because this continues to provide options for Alastair Cook and Andy Flower."

The Lord's Test gets underway on Thursday as Australia look to hit back after beginning the Ashes summer with a painful defeat in what was one of the most tense finishes of all time.

England squad for the Lord's Test: Alastair Cook (Essex, captain), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Graham Onions (Durham), Kevin Pietersen (Surrey), Matt Prior (Sussex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)

View comments (29)