Athletics - Fraser-Pryce wins 100m at Diamond League opener in Doha

Double Olympic champion Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce edged Blessing Okagbare to clock 11.13 seconds and take 100m victory at the 2014 Diamond League opener in Doha.

Athletics - Fraser-Pryce wins 100m at Diamond League opener in Doha

View photo

Jamaica's Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (R) runs next to her compatriot Kerron Stewart (L) and Blessing Okagbare of Nigeria during the women's 100m event at the IAAF Diamond League athletics meet in Doha (Reuters)

The Jamaican looked to have an unassailable lead at the halfway point, but was run close on the line after a late surge from Okagbare who finished in 11.18.

Ivan Ukhov won a thrilling high jump competition that saw four competitors smash the meeting record with clearances of 2.37m. Ukhov’s winning leap of 2.41m was enough for the world lead as he pipped Canadian Derek Drouin and American Erik Kynard

With a cluster of athletes hitting form early in 2014 – and world champion Bohdan Bondarenko still to feature – it looks increasingly likely that Javier Sotomayor’s long-standing world record of 2.45m will finally be broken.

Asbel Kiprop captured a fast-paced 1500m in a meeting record 3:29.18. Compatriot Silas Kiplagat was second in 3:29.70 as six men dipped under 3:31.

Hellen Obiri, women's world 1500m bronze medallist, shattered the African record in the 3000m as she clocked 8:20.68, the fastest time ever by a non-Chinese runner.

Fellow countrywoman Mercy Cherono was second in 8:21.14 as the two Kenyans became the fifth and sixth fastest performers of all time in the event. World indoor champion Genzebe Dibaba of Ethiopia, who had dominated the indoor season, ran a personal best 8:26.21 but could only finish sixth.

LaShawn Merritt equalled the best 400m time in the world this year after running 44.44 with Youssef Ahmed Masrahi and Pavel Maslak finishing second and third respectively. Fellow American David Oliver was first in the 110m hurdles in 13.23.

In the 200m, Jamaica's Nickel Ashmeade surprised compatriot Warren Weir to take victory in 20.31.

View comments (0)