Bahrain Grand Prix - Final Bahrain GP starting grid

Penalties for Lewis Hamilton and Mark Webber have shuffled the order in the top 10 on the grid for the Bahrain Grand Prix.


Both drivers have grid penalties for the race - Hamilton loses five spots after a gearbox change caused by a puncture, and Webber a three-place penalty for his clash with Jean-Eric Vergne last week in China.

Hamilton's penalty means Webber only loses two spots as the Red Bull's is applied first due to having been incurred earlier, dropping Webber from fifth to seventh. The Mercedes driver drops from fourth to ninth.

That shuffle promotes Felipe Massa – who qualified on the hard tyre – to fourth, with Paul di Resta and Force India team-mate Adrian Sutil lining up on the third row.

Further down the field, Esteban Gutierrez's penalty for crashing into Sutil in the Chinese GP last weekend drops him from 18th to the back of the grid.

At the front, Nico Rosberg lines up on pole position ahead of Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso.

View comments (2)