Bandari 2-2 AFC Leopards: Ingwe surrender their lead twice
The two sides fought to share the points as they scored all their goals in an epic first half in Mombasa
The two sides fought to share the points as they scored all their goals in an epic first half in Mombasa

AFC Leopards surrendered their lead twice to draw against Bandari FC at Mbaraki Stadium on Thursday in a Kenyan Premier League (KPL) tie.

The Dockers and Ingwe have ended up sharing the spoils after losing their last league matches against Ulinzi Stars and Gor Mahia respectively.

Jaffery Owiti and Vincent Oburu scored Leopards' goals while the home side fought back as Sosthenes Idah and Cliff Kasuti scored for them.

Scroll to continue with content

Owiti registered the opening goal for AFC Leopards in the sixth minute after making a fine run across the right-wing before slotting past Mustapha Oduor from a tight angle.

The Dockers equalized in the 12th minute when an unmarked Idah headed into the net at AFC Leopards' left post from a corner. The parity did not last long as the visitors pulled their second goal in the 13th minute through Oburu.

After Oburu and Owiti launched AFC Leopards' counter-attack with precision, the former finally managed to slot the ball in between Oduor's legs for the third goal of the match.

Unfortunately, Owiti did not last long in the game as he got injured and coach Casa Mbungo brought Boniface Mukhekhe in his place in the 25th minute.

Bandari equalized again in the 36th minute when Benjamin Ochan was unable to deal with a shot from Willaim Wadri and spilt the ball toward Kasuti's path. The former Ulinzi Stars winger volleyed it over Ingwe's custodian to bring matters level before half-time.

John Makwatta missed two chances for AFC Leopards in the 63rd and 67th minutes but Bandari also failed to make use of their late opportunities as Wadri and Benjamin Mosha failed to score from their open chances.

AFC Leopards will face Kisumu All-Stars in their next match on November 24 at Kenyatta Stadium while Bandari will have a tougher game at home against the reigning champions Gor Mahia on the same day.

Bandari XI: Mustapha Oduor, Fred Nkata, Felly Mulumba, Sosthenes Idah, Collins Agade, Abdalla Hassan, William Wadri, Yema Mwana, Patrick Mugendi, Cliff Kasuti. 

Subs: Michael Wanyika, Dan Otewa, Brian Otieno, Danson Chetambe, Darius Msagha, Benjamin Mosha, Shaban Kenga.

AFC Leopards XI: Ochan Benjamin, Sikhayi Dennis, Munene Washington, Mudenyu Robert, Sean Clyde, Tsuma Said, Ndikumana Tresor, Owiti Jaffery, Makwata John, Isuzza Whyvonne, Oburu Vincent.

Subs: Owade Ezekiel, Shivachi Collins, Kamura Collins, Mukangula Eugene, Odhiambo Austin, Ochieng Austin, Mukhekhe Boniface. 

What to read next