‘Barbie’ and ‘Ahsoka’ Take Home Top Honors at ICG Publicists Awards

“Barbie” and “Ahsoka” received top honors at the 61st annual International Cinematographers Guild (ICG) Publicists Awards luncheon at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel on Friday.

The awards honor individual publicists and unit still photographers who further publicity campaigns for film,TV and entertainment journalists.

More from Variety

Variety’s senior entertainment reporter Angelique Jackson earned a nomination from ICG in the Press Award category.

In film, the team at Warner Bros. was recognized for their work on “Barbie.”

Over on the television side, the Disney+ marketing and publicity team took the top honors for their work on “Ahsoka.”

Kicking off the event, mention of the ongoing negotiations between IATSE and the Hollywood Basic Crafts unions was made. ICG chair Sheryl Main praised Matthew Loeb, International president of the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, and said solidarity was key.

Sir Patrick Stewart was honored with the 2024 Television Showperson of the Year Award.

During the luncheon, the Guild honored publicist Jackie Bazan with the Bob Yeager Award for community service, and the Motion Picture & Television Fund with the Henri Bollinger Award for special merit.

See the full list of winners below.

Maxwell Weinberg Award for Motion Picture Publicity Campaign

“John Wick: Chapter 4”
“The Little Mermaid”
“Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse”
“Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Mutant Mayhem”

Les Mason Award for Career Achievement in Publicity

Natalie Bjelajac, Netflix
Linda Brown, Unit Publicist
Kira Feola, KC Feola PR
Gabriela Gutentag, Unit Publicist
Carol McConnaughey, Unit Publicist

Publicists of the Year Award

Katie Lovick, Sony Pictures Entertainment
Julia Neal, Paramount Pictures
Chris Garcia Nutley, Warner Bros.
Cynthia Swartz, Strategy PR/Consulting
Shelly Williams, Unit Publicist

Excellence in Unit Stills Photography – Motion Pictures

Claudette Barius
Daniel McFadden
Jessica Miglio
Michele K. Short
Jojo Whilden

Maxwell Weinberg Award for Television Publicity Campaign

“Ahsoka” – Walt Disney Studios, Lucasfilm/Disney+
“Frasier” – CBS Studios/Paramount+
“Star Trek: Picard” – CBS Studios/Paramount+
“Welcome to Chippendales” – 20th Television/Hulu

Excellence in Unit Stills Photography – Television

Jessica Brooks
Justin Lubin
Jake Giles Netter
Erin Simkin
Lacey Terrell

Press Award

Scott Feinberg, The Hollywood Reporter
Angelique Jackson, Variety
Perri Nemiroff, Collider
Sasha Stone, Awards Daily
Jen Yamato, L.A. Times

International Media Award

Raya Abirached, MBC International
Baz Bamigboye, Deadline International
Wenlei Ma, Seven West Media (Australia)
Raquel Laguna Pardo, Europa Press (Spain)
Marlene von Arx, CH Media Newspapers (Switzerland)

Best of Variety

Sign up for Variety’s Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.