Basketball - Factbox: San Antonio Spurs

Factbox on the San Antonio Spurs, who won the Western Conference championship to qualify for the NBA Finals against the Miami Heat.

Basketball - Factbox: San Antonio Spurs

View photo

Tony Parker San Antonio Spurs 2012-2013

Regular season record: 58-24

How they qualified: Won Southwest Division in the regular season. Beat the Los Angeles Lakers 4-0 in the first round of the play-offs, edged the Golden State Warriors 4-2 in the second round and beat the Memphis Grizzlies 4-0 in the Western Conference final.

Head coach: Gregg Popovich

Top play-off scorer: Tony Parker (23 points per game)

Top play-off rebounder: Tim Duncan (9.2 rebounds per game)

NBA titles: Four (2007, 2005, 2003, 1999)

The San Antonio franchise was founded in 1967 as the Dallas Chaparrals, a member of the old American Basketball Association, and after being known as the Dallas and Texas Chaparrals they became the San Antonio Spurs in 1973.

Three years later they joined the NBA, one of four former American Basketball Association teams to remain intact in the NBA after the two leagues' 1976 merger. They are the only former ABA team to have won an NBA championship and currently play in the Southwest Division.

Their four NBA titles are the fourth most in league history, behind the Boston Celtics (17), Los Angeles Lakers (16) and Chicago Bulls (6).

Coach Gregg Popovich has been a part of all four title runs, with the Spurs never having lost a Finals' series, going four-for-four.

San Antonio, led by Hall of Famer George Gervin, captured five division titles in their first seven years in the NBA and were a perennial play-off participant.

They won their first title in 1999 behind the Twin Towers of future Hall of Famer David Robinson and current standout Tim Duncan.

The addition of French shooting guard Tony Parker and Argentine point guard Manu Ginobili brought three more titles - in 2003, 2005 and 2007.

This season, behind their big three of Duncan, Parker and Ginobili, the Spurs finished second to Oklahoma City in the Western Conference regular season, but ousted the Los Angeles Lakers, Golden State Warriors and Memphis Grizzlies in the play-offs to reach their showdown with Miami well rested.

View comments (0)