Bayern dominate Ballon D’Or nominations

Sean Farrell
Bayern dominate Ballon D’Or nominations
Bayern dominate Ballon D’Or nominations

European champions bayern Munich boast six players in today’s list of nominations for the Ballon D’Or.

Franck Ribery, Arjen Robben, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Phillip Lahm, Thomas Muller and goalkeeper Manuel Neuer are all short-listed for the FIFA player of the year award.

The side they outclassed in the semi-final, Barcelona, have four players nominated; Xavi, Iniesta, Neymar and four-time winner, Lionel Messi.

The Premier League is represented by Eden Hazard, Mesut Ozil, Luis Suarez, Robin van Persie and Yaya Toure, Ozil’s move to Arsenal meaning Real Madrid must be content with having just Gareth Bale and Cristiano Ronaldo in the running.

In the coach of the year short-list, the retired Alex Ferguson is nominated alongside German treble-winner Jupp Heynckes and the man he defeated to win the Champions League at Wembley, Jurgen Klopp.

Here’s the full list of nominees.

Gareth Bale, Edinson Cavani, Radamel Falcao, Eden Hazard, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Andres Iniesta, Philipp Lahm, Robert Lewandowski, Lionel Messi, Thomas Muller, Manuel Neuer, Neymar, Mesut Ozil, Andrea Pirlo, Franck Ribery, Arjen Robben, Cristiano Ronaldo, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Luis Suarez, Thiago Silva (Paris St Germain/Brazil), Yaya Toure, Robin van Persie, Xavi.


Carlo Ancelotti, Rafael Benitez, Antonio Conte, Vicente Del Bosque, Alex Ferguson, Jupp Heynckes, Jurgen Klopp, Jose Mourinho, Luiz Felipe Scolari, Arsene Wenger.

Late goal leaves Longford and Bray all-square in promotion/relegation play-off

Austrian footballers recreate Pires/Henry penalty with similar, disastrous result

How Championship Manager sabotaged my Junior Cert

Pellegrini hints at dropping out-of-form Hart

What to read next