Boxing - Scott's defeat to Chisora will not be reviewed

Dereck Chisora’s knockout win over Malik Scott in July will stand, despite an appeal from the American’s camp.

Boxing - Fury and Chisora remain on collision course after wins

View photo

Dereck Chisora (photo: Getty)

Chisora won the bout at Wembley Arena in baffling circumstances at the time, having caught the previously-unbeaten Scott on the ropes with a strong overhand shot, forcing his opponent to take a knee.

Referee Phil Edwards registered a count for a knockdown, before calling the bout off after Scott rose to his feet at nine.

Scott, his corner and some onlookers believed Edwards had delivered a count one short of the full 10, with his promoter Dan Goossen confirming his intention to appeal soon after.

"The decision is not unexpected but what I hate to see is something that looks so obviously wrong and have it impact a man's career," Goossen told ESPN.

"Malik Scott worked for many, many years to be at this point in his career and so all you want is to have everything fair and square inside the ring."

That protest was ended by Robert Smith, general secretary of the British Boxing Board of Control, who clarified exactly why Scott was ruled as unable to continue.

"I understand the points you have raised but in answering feel I must first clarify them," Smith wrote in a response to Goossen.

"Firstly, when describing the process of Mr. Scott rising, you quite correctly make reference to Mr. Scott 'having nothing on the canvas but his feet' at the count of nine.

“However, under British Boxing Board of Control Rules (3.32) a boxer is deemed to be 'down' by one of four criteria, one of which is 'when the boxer is in the act of rising.'

View photo


“Therefore, the point at which the boxer has nothing on the canvas but his feet is not the point at which the boxer is no longer 'down.'

"Most importantly, after a boxer is 'down' boxing can only continue when the boxer 'is in a position and a condition to defend himself'.”

The latter point refers to Scott’s apparent failure/nonchalance in bringing up his guard at the request of referee Edwards when he finally did rise to his feet – a common custom for knocked-down boxers to show the official they have enough wherewithal to continue to fight.

Smith also pointed out that ‘10’ is never actually recited in a boxing count: “In the United Kingdom (like many countries) the count of the referee (having picked it up from the timekeeper) is '7, 8, 9, out.' Ten is never called by any referee in any contest in this country.”

He did, however, commend Scott for the professional manner in which he handled the decision and in approaching the appeal.

"Mr. Scott conducted himself in an extremely professional manner during his stay in the UK both before and after the contest and should he wish to return to the UK he would be very welcome," Smith added.

Scott has said ever since the July 20 defeat he would like a rematch, though Chisora’s promoter Frank Warren, while open to the idea, has already cast doubt over ‘Del Boy’ fighting ‘The King’ again when he returns to action on September 21 at the Olympic Park’s Copper Box.

Chisora has been made mandatory challenger to unbeaten European heavyweight champion Kubrat Pulev, who next fights David Price's conqueror Tony Thompson in a world title eliminator.

View comments (5)