Brookes storms to Donington win

Tyco Suzuki's Josh Brookes stormed to victory in British Superbike race one at Donington Park ahead of Swan Yamaha's Tommy Hill and Samsung Honda's Michael Laverty.

BSB - Suzuki pair enjoy fruitful testing

View photo

Josh Brookes

The Australian was believed to have held back at the last round at Cadwell Park - finishing sixth in race one and second in race two - but responded to those claims in fine style with a runaway win despite being forced into a seven-lap dash after a large oil spill delayed proceedings.

Brookes has already been confirmed in the top six that will enter the Showdown after this round nine of 12 but is still keen to chase podium credits. Despite holding a big lead over Shane Byrne - absent through injury this weekend - in the standings, 'Shakey' had 23 credits to Brookes's 22 prior to the weekend.

With a win worth three credits, he is now second in that list to Hill, who has 36. Laverty now has 13, with the closest riders of the potential other 'title fighters' on three credits.

With 13 laps gone Brookes was easing his way to just his second win of the season but then Alastair Seeley's Tyco Suzuki spread oil everywhere because of what was later discovered to be faulty oil pressure.

Red flags were immediately deployed as Seeley managed to control the bike before parking it on the grass with only Tom Grant falling foul. A lengthy break then followed for the clean-up.

The lottery of a seven-lap dash then began, but nothing was going to deny Brookes his win.

The battle for fourth was far tighter and was superbly won by Stuart Easton – the Scot getting the better of James Westmoreland and Alex Lowes to place them fifth and sixth respectively.

Sixth place was welcome for Lowes though with the cushion between him in sixth and seventh now 16 points while ninth definitely assured Tommy Bridewell, fifth overall, a Showdown place.

Top 10

1. Josh Brookes (Tyco Suzuki)

2. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) +1.190s

3. Michael Laverty (Samsung Honda) +1.927s

4. Stuart Easton (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +7.517s

5. James Westmoreland (WFR Honda) +7.537s

6. Alex Lowes (WFR Honda) +7.698s

7. Jon Kirkham (Samsung Honda) +8.106s

8. Chris Walker (Pr1mo Bournemouth Kawasaki) +8.373s

9. Tommy Bridewell (Supersonic BMW) +8.568s

10. Barry Burrell (Buildbase BMW) +8.752s

View comments (1)