Trio announced for rookie shorlist

Colorado Avalanche winger Gabriel Landeskog, Edmonton Oilers centre Ryan Nugent-Hopkins and New Jersey Devils centre Adam Henrique are finalists for rookie of the year.


The winner of the Calder Trophy for top rookie will be announced June 20 at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

Landeskog, 19, the second pick in last year's draft, had 52 points in the 2011-12 NHL season and captured the rookie scoring title in a tie-breaker over Nugent-Hopkins on the basis of more goals (22).

Nugent-Hopkins, taken first overall in 2011, became the first 18-year-old in league history to record five assists in one game last November in a match against Chicago and was tied with Landeskog in points despite missing 20 games due to injury.

Henrique, 22, a third-round pick by the Devils, made the most of his opportunity when top centre Travis Zajac went down with an injury and went on to lead all rookie players in assists (35) and shorthanded goals (4) during the regular season.

Sorry you didn't like this comment. Please provide a reason below.

Are you sure?
Rating failed. Try again.
Request failed. Try again.
We will promote constructive and witty comments to the top, so that everyone sees them!
Sorry, we can’t load comments right now. Try again.

    Win cash in one day fantasy football contests. Join now!

    Learn how to play

    Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
    Premier League £150 Sunday 84/170 £1 £150 In 54 minutes Enter
    Premier League £250 Sunday 29/57 £5 £250 In 54 minutes Enter
    PL £10 Double Up [Win £20] 8/11 £10 £100 In 54 minutes Enter