Capitals ease past Kings in IPL

·1-min read

Delhi Capitals restricted Punjab Kings to the lowest total of the 2022 Indian Premier League as they coasted to an easy nine-wicket win.

The Kings were put into bat by the Capitals and that decision paid off in a substantial way as their attack thrived in Mumbai.

Axar Patel (2-10) and Lalit Yadav (2-11) were the pick of the bunch as the Kings were bowled out for 115.

Captain Mayank Agarwal (24) and Jitesh Sharma (32) were the only batters to score more than 20 for the Kings.

Prithvi Shaw (41) and David Warner (60 not out) put on the highest powerplay score of the season as the Capitals raced to 81-0.

There was never any way back for the Kings from there, Warner finishing things off with a boundary to seal Delhi's third win of the season.

Kings fade after steady start

The Kings put on an opening stand of 33 but then lost four wickets in the space of three overs for 21 runs as the Delhi attack seized control.

Jitesh provided hope during his 23-ball stay at the crease, but the tail was unable to repair the damage after he was removed by Axar.

Warner finishes with a flourish

Warner's half-century was his 53rd in IPL cricket and made it three in a row for the Australia opener. He wrapped up the win with 57 balls to spare with a fine pull shot to the midwicket boundary.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting