Carlo Ancelotti unhappy Girona awarded penalty that cost Real Madrid two points in La Liga race

Getty Images

Los Blancos looked set for all three points when Vinicius Jr found the back of the Girona net in the second half, but a penalty 10 mintes later changed everything. Marco Asensio was adjudged to have handled the ball inside the Real Madrid box, and Cristhian Stuani finished the penalty to equalise the game at 1-1. Ancelotti did not agree with the penalty decision as the ball appeared to hit Asensio's chest first. "I don't like to talk about this, but today I am going to do it. The first situation is quite clear, it is not a penalty because he does not touch the ball with his hand. I have spoken with Asensio and he tells me that he has hit him in the chest," he said, as quoted by Marca. "It is true that the left hand is in a bit of a strange position. If he touches the ball with his hand there could be a doubt, but he simply does not give the ball with his hand. They have made it up. "The second situation is a bit more debatable. The rule is clear, there was no clear control, but there you can give your opinion. I'm not going to discuss this. "What surprises me is the penalty, which came at an important moment in the game, it was on track, although it cost us a lot. After this situation, we have two fewer points on the table." When asked whether the defeat was due to the officiating, Ancelotti added: "I don't know if we didn't win because of that. This episode has affected the game. "We were able to play better, but at this point in the season, it's difficult to have a very high level of play."

The article Carlo Ancelotti unhappy Girona awarded penalty that cost Real Madrid two points in La Liga race appeared first on Planetsport.com.