Champions Cup: Fixture clash in quarter-final while Challenge Cup kick-offs also announced

·3-min read
 Credit: PA Images
Credit: PA Images

The Champions Cup and Challenge Cup quarter-final schedule has been confirmed by European Professional Club Rugby (EPCR).

Munster v Toulouse will kick off the top tier tournament’s last-eight ties, with that meeting scheduled for Saturday, May 7 at 15:00 BST at the Aviva Stadium.

There are two more Champions Cup knockout matches taking place on that day in an unfortunate fixture clash as Leicester take on Leinster at Mattioli Woods Welford Road at the same time as La Rochelle meet Montpellier in a derby at Stade Marcel-Deflandre. Both those fixtures begin at 17:30 BST (16:30 GMT).

Rounding out the quarter-finals on Sunday will be Racing 92 against Sale Sharks, with that tie kicking off at 16:00 local time in Paris, which is 15:00 BST.

In the Challenge Cup the last-eight matches begin on Friday, May 6 with an English derby between Gloucester and Saracens at Kingsholm at 20:00 BST.

There’s two games on Saturday when Edinburgh and Wasps kick off that day’s action with a 12:30 BST start before Lyon and Glasgow meet in the night.

Like the Champions Cup, there will be one quarter-final match taking place on Sunday and it promises to be a thriller between Toulon and London Irish.

Champions Cup quarter-finals

Saturday, May 7

Munster v Toulouse
Venue: Aviva Stadium
Kick-off: 15:00 BST (14:00 GMT)

Leicester Tigers v Leinster
Venue: Mattioli Woods Welford Road
Kick-off: 17:30 BST (16:30 GMT)

La Rochelle v Montpellier
Venue: Stade Marcel-Deflandre
Kick-off: 18:30 local (17:30 BST, 16:30 GMT)

Sunday, May 8

Racing 92 v Sale Sharks
Venue: Paris La Défense Arena
Kick-off: 16:00 local (15:00 BST, 14:00 GMT)

Semi-finals – May 13/14/15
The highest-ranked clubs from the pool stage will have home venue advantage.
SF 1: Racing 92 (A1) or Sale Sharks (A5) v La Rochelle (A3) or Montpellier (A7)
SF 2: Leicester Tigers (B1) or Leinster (A4) v Munster (B3) or Toulouse (B7)

2022 Champions Cup final: Saturday, May 28; Stade Vélodrome, Marseille (17:45 local, 16:45 BST, 15:45 GMT)

Challenge Cup quarter-finals

Friday, May 6

Gloucester v Saracens
Venue: Kingsholm
Kick-off: 20:00 BST (19:00 GMT)

Saturday, May 7

Edinburgh v Wasps
Venue: DAM Health Stadium
Kick-off: 12:30 BST (11:30 GMT)

Lyon v Glasgow Warriors
Venue: Matmut Stadium de Gerland
Kick-off: 21:00 local (20:00 BST, 19:00 GMT)

Sunday, May 8

Toulon v London Irish
Venue: Stade Félix Mayol
Kick-off: 13:30 local (12:30 BST, 11:30 GMT)

Semi-finals – May 13/14/15
The highest-ranked clubs will have home venue advantage.
SF 1: Lyon (1) or Glasgow Warriors (14) v Edinburgh (3) or Wasps (12)
SF 2: Toulon (2) or London Irish (6) v Gloucester (4) or Saracens (8)

2022 Challenge Cup final: Friday, May 27; Stade Vélodrome, Marseille (21:00 local, 20:00 BST, 19:00 GMT)

READ MORE: Loose Pass: Champions Cup head shots, cards, fan behaviour and a moment’s reflection

The article Champions Cup: Fixture clash in quarter-final while Challenge Cup kick-offs also announced appeared first on Planetrugby.com.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting