Clare dominate 2013 Hurling Allstars with eight winners
Clare dominate 2013 Hurling Allstars with eight winners

View photo

Clare dominate 2013 Hurling Allstars with eight winners

Updated 7.08am

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Clare have won eight Allstars in the GAA/GPA end-of-season hurling awards.

David McInerney, Brendan Bugler, Pat Donnellan, Colm Galvin, Conor Ryan, Tony Kelly, Podge Collins and Conor McGrath will be presented with their awards at Friday night’s banquet.

Beaten finalists Cork have three places with goalkeeper Anthony Nash joining Seamus Harnedy and Patrick Horgan.

The beaten semi-finalists make up the rest of the 15-man selection with Dublin trio Peter Kelly, Liam Rushe and Danny Sutcliffe honoured as is Limerick’s sole representative, full-back Richie McCarthy.

In total there are 12 first-time recipients with Nash, Bugler and Rushe the only players to have won Allstars previously.

Five of the winners — McInerney, Galvin, Kelly and Collins from Clare and Dublin’s Sutcliffe — also competed at U21 level this season.

“It was a truly exceptional hurling championship and the individual players honoured today can be very proud of their contribution to that season,” GPA chief executive Dessie Farrell said.

The football selection as well as the Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year in both codes will be announced at Friday’s ceremony in Croke Park.

Kelly, Nash and Collins will contest Hurler of the Year. Kelly is also nominated for Young Hurler of the Year where he goes up against team-mates McInernery and Collins.


1.Anthony Nash (Cork)


2. Richie McCarthy (Limerick)

3. Peter Kelly (Dublin)

4. David McInerney (Clare)


5. Brendan Bugler (Clare)

6. Liam Rushe (Dublin)

7. Patrick Donnellan (Clare)


8. Colm Galvin (Clare)

9. Conor Ryan (Clare)


10. Séamus Harnedy (Cork)

11. Tony Kelly (Clare)

12. Danny Sutcliffe (Dublin)


13. Pádraic Collins (Clare)

14. Patrick Horgan (Cork)

15. Conor McGrath (Clare)

Do you agree with this year’s selections?

First published 12.01am

Snapshot – Conal Keaney celebrates Dublin title with his daughter

14-man Vincent’s edge past Loman’s after epic week

Sorry you didn't like this comment. Please provide a reason below.

Are you sure?
Rating failed. Try again.
Request failed. Try again.
We will promote constructive and witty comments to the top, so that everyone sees them!
Sorry, we can’t load comments right now. Try again.

    Win cash in one day fantasy football contests. Join now!

    Learn how to play

    Contest Entries Entry Fee Prizes Starts (EDT)
    Premier League £1,500 Saturday 17/335 £5 £1500 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £600 Saturday 0/26 £25 £600 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter
    Premier League £300 Saturday 31/340 £1 £300 Saturday 10:00 AM Enter