Cricket-Australia v England Ashes series


SYDNEY, Nov 18 (Reuters) - Factbox on the five-test Ashes

series between Australia and England, which begins at the Gabba

in Brisbane on Thursday:

- - - -

Schedule (times GMT):

First test Nov. 21-25 (0000) Gabba, Brisbane

Second test Dec. 5-9 (0030) Adelaide Oval

Third test Dec. 13-17 (0230) WACA, Perth

Fourth test Dec. 26-30 (2330) Melbourne Cricket Ground


Fifth test Jan. 3-7 (2330) Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG)

- - - -


Test world ranking: Fifth

Captain: Michael Clarke

Coach: Darren Lehmann

Top ranked test batsman: Clarke (5)

Top ranked test bowler: Ryan Harris (6)

- -

2013 form (opponent/venue/result):

Sri Lanka Sydney Won by five wickets

India Chennai Lost by eight wickets

India Hyderabad Lost by innings and 135 runs

India Mohali Lost by six wickets

India Delhi Lost by six wicket

England Nottingham Lost by 14 runs

England Lord's Lost by 347 runs

England Manchester Match drawn

England Durham Lost by 74 runs

England The Oval Match drawn

- -

Squad: Chris Rogers, David Warner, Shane Watson, Michael

Clarke (captain), Steve Smith, George Bailey, Brad Haddin,

Mitchell Johnson, Peter Siddle, Ryan Harris, Nathan Lyon, James


- -


Test world ranking: Third

Captain: Alastair Cook

Coach: Andy Flower

Top ranked test batsman: Ian Bell (10)

Top ranked test bowler: Graeme Swann (=7)

- -

2013 form (opponent/venue/result):

New Zealand Dunedin Match drawn

New Zealand Wellington Match drawn

New Zealand Auckland Match drawn

New Zealand Lord's Won by 170 runs

New Zealand Leeds Won 247 runs

Australia Nottingham Won by 14 runs

Australia Lord's Won by 347 runs

Australia Manchester Match drawn

Australia Durham Won by 74 runs

Australia The Oval Match drawn

- -

Squad: Alastair Cook (captain), Joe Root, Jonathan Trott,

Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Matt Prior, Stuart Broad, Graeme

Swann, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Monty Panesar, Gary

Ballance, Michael Carberry, Boyd Rankin, Steven Finn, Ben

Stokes, Chris Tremlett.

- - - -


Australia v England tests

Matches 331

Australia wins 133

England wins 105

Draws 93

- - - -

Last 15 Ashes series (Year/hosts/winners/margin)

1986/87 Australia England 2-1

1989 England Australia 4-0*

1990/91 Australia Australia 3-0

1993 England Australia 4-1*

1994/95 Australia Australia 3-1

1997 England Australia 3-2*

1998/99 Australia Australia 3-1

2001 England Australia 4-1

2002/03 Australia Australia 4-1

2005 England England 2-1

2006/07 Australia Australia 5-0

2009 England England 2-1

2010/11 Australia England 3-1

2013 England England 3-0

* Six-test series

- -

** Test rankings correct as of Nov. 16

(Reporting by Nick Mulvenney, editing by Patrick Johnston)

Sorry you didn't like this comment. Please provide a reason below.

Are you sure?
Rating failed. Try again.
Request failed. Try again.
We will promote constructive and witty comments to the top, so that everyone sees them!
Sorry, we can’t load comments right now. Try again.